Skip to Main Content

Streaming Film Collections by Subject

This guide is designed to help faculty and students identify streaming films for use in classes, projects, or even as secondary sources.

Streaming Services

Did you know with a Athens County Public Library card (free), you can access HOOPLA, a streaming service provided by and for public libraries.  Not only streaming, also includes Audiobooks, Music, Ebooks, TV.  ACPL also provides access to entire KANOPY catalog.  No time to get to library to get a card, sign up online.  NOTE: PATRONS MAY WATCH 10 FILMS PER VENDOR PER MONTH.  

NOTE:  HOOPLA AND KANOPY ONLY AVAILABLE VIA ACPL with a library card.   (Athens County Public LIbraries) with Library Card. 

AVON

Video content selected to compliment broadest range of subject areas: art, business, counseling and therapy, education, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, literature, political science, religion, women’s studies.  Titles include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.

FOD - Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a comprehensive collection of high-quality streaming videos licensed from a long established educational media distributor (Films for the Humanities and Sciences). Other content providers for Films on Demand include Davidson Films, California Newsreel, PBS, HBO and many more. Over 33,000 videos cover a wide range of topics organized into broad subjects. Individual segments subdivide each video into discrete shorter units.

Kanopy

Portal to streaming video content for educational, documentary, independent and art house films from hundreds of content providers; Kino, Bullfrog, Criterion, PBS, DER, plus more. Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos; many videos come with transcripts.

On the Boards - Athens campus only

On the Boards offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization. This first-of-its-kind site brings contemporary work to a wider public by filming top caliber performances with multiple high-definition cameras, editing the film collaboratively with the artists, and delivering them online as feature-length performance films.

SWANK

 This website provides an online catalog of classic feature films and films on literature, history, science, psychology/sociology, film study, fine arts, foreign language, humanities/culture, and communications. 

DocuSeek

The Docuseek2 Collection contains streaming video of documentaries by producers, distributors, and independent filmmakers from around the world. The documentaries focus on contemporary social issues in a variety of disciplines, including environmental sciences, political and social sciences, history, health, psychology, and more. The collection includes films from distributors such as Bullfrog Films, dGenerate Films, Fanlight Productions, Icarus Films, Kartemquin, and the National Film Board of Canada.

Drama Online

Online resource for plays, critical analysis and performance. The full text of many plays, featuring drama lists from Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare, Faber and Faber, Nick Hern, Playwrights Canada Press; audio broadcasts from LA Theatreworks; streaming performances from Royal Shakespeare Company and Globe on Screen and National Theatre Live. Drama Online offers a complete digital library of the most studied, performed and critically acclaimed plays from the last two and a half thousand years.

Comparisons of Streaming Services

Streaming Services Able to Make Clips Able to Make Playlists Has Transcripts Able to Embed  Organized by Academic Subject Organized by Movie Genre
Kanopy x x x x x  
Avon  x* x x x x  
Films on Demand x x x x x  
SWANK          x**   x
On the Boards       x    
Drama Online x   x   x  
DocuSeek x x   x x  

*Films in the Sony Pictures Classics collection are not able to be embedded

** Only able to be embedded into blackboard