BizMiner produces the most granular industry statistical reports in the market. We offer industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Our market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.”
Provides full text access of more than 3500 journals, trade publications, magazines, company reports, and more, in the disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Also useful for finding company profiles, industry profiles, and SWOT analysis for companies.
I often refer to Business Source Complete as the “Google of Business Information”. Regardless of your topic, Business Source Complete is bound to have something for you. It’s great for company and industry news, academic journals, trade publications, and much more.
Provides quick overviews of the political, economic, and social issues in countries around the world.
A great resource for understanding international economic and business issues.
Topics include government, economy, investment climate, and social and environmental issues, and more.
Datastream is an advanced research tool that contains worldwide financial and economic data. It includes both current and historical data on equities, economic series, foreign exchange, interest rates, fixed income instruments, and derivatives.This database can be found at the 2nd Floor service desk in Alden Library, or in the Economics Lab in Bentley.
Access Info: Athens Campus Only
The subscription to Datastream allows access to the following:
Default Programs for all customers
Dow Jones Indices
ICAP Swaps Swaptions Caps Floors
ICMA Non-Price data
ICMA Price data
JP Morgan Emerging Market Bond Indices
Lehman Brothers Bond Indices
Merrill Lynch Bond Indices
MSCI Basic Service (Unrestricted – free to all customers)
Data Channel Bolt-on to Equity Research
Data Channel Bolt-on to Financial and Commodity Futures
Data Channel Bolt-on to Fixed Interest Research
JP Morgan Indices via datachannel
Data Channel Bolt-on to Traded Options
Equity Research including real time data
Equity Research (28 program removed), inc US Financial and Commodity Futures
Fixed Interest Research including German real time data
Graphics Bolt-on to Equity Research Graphics Bolt-on to Financial and Commodity Future
Graphics Bolt-on to Fixed Interest Research
JP Morgan Indices via graphics
Graphics Bolt-on to Traded Options
US Macro-economics and IBJ-Nikko Japanese economics (available outside Japan only)
JP Morgan Indices via Equity Research Traded Options
JP Morgan Indices via TSA
Salomon Brothers Restricted Bond Indices
Salomon Smith Barney Equity Indices
User Created Indices
Useful for international business and doing business in other countries .
Risk Reports provide information on political risk, economic risk and commercial risk within a country.
Country Reports provide an economic overview, history and government information, and more.
Provides country risk data on over 98% of the worlds GDP–over 130 countries with 10 years of historical data on each county.
1. Click the Country Reports tab after logging in to Mergent Archives
2. Use the drop-down menu or the map to choose a country
3. You may need to sort by date to find the most recent reports in your search
A wonderful resource when looking for articles on a company, topic, industry, and more. The database provides full-text access to over 9,000 publications. Factiva is a very powerful database, although it can be admittedly complex to use.
Especially useful when looking for articles about industries and companies in other countries.
Access Info: Ohio University Athens Campus Only
Our license only allows for 6 concurrent users
Contains authoritative analyst reports covering companies, industries, products and markets. Find stock reports and equity reports from Deutche Bank, J.P. Morgan, Global Data, Marketline, Wells Fargo, and many more investment firms.
Because you can find many analyst (stock) reports for the same company from many different firms, Investext is a great tool to use to get information from a variety of sources.
The industry search is pretty clunky, so you may have better results finding industry information by searching for companies within the industry.
A great resource to get a broad understanding of large industries within the United States.
Use this as an introduction to industries to become more familiar with what’s happening in your prospective industry.
Note: Many business students have a tendency to overuse IbisWorld in their papers and projects. IbisWorld is a great place to get started, but I can guarantee that students who depend too much on the reports without consulting numerous other sources will not do as well on their projects. You need to consult multiple resources to have a well-rounded view of your industry.
IBISWorld contains in-depth, regularly updated industry reports for over 700 United States NAICS-classified industries. Each report averages 25-30 pages in length, and contains the following information:
Note: Ohio University Libraries only subscribes to the Industry Market Research and Company Research Components. All other components of the database are not included in the library’s subscription.
Provides access to competitive benchmarking data, featuring 14 key business and financial ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. Contains industry balance sheet and income statement information along with financial ratios organized by SIC codes.
There is not an easy way to search Key Business Ratios. I’ve found the best way to use the interface is to browse by the broad industry drop-down menus. Also note that the KBR industry coverage is not as granular as Bizminer, which has a more narrow focus.
Contains market research reports covering US and some International marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
Nexis Uni (previously known as LexisNexis Academic for ages) is a great source for company or industry news, company profiles, legal cases, financials, family trees, accounting publications, law journals, and more.
Limit searches to Business News, by industry, or by company to retrieve the most relevant results.
Contains laws, statutes, Federal and State cases, etc. Use to find a legal case for companies and individuals.
Description: “Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, insightful articles from expert industry and country analysts. The database enables users to gain a full understanding of consumer market performance trends and drivers at a sector level. Passport also contains Consumer Lifestyle reports that examine how people live their lives and the factors influencing lifestyle choices for 72 countries. Topics examined include population segmentation, home ownership trends, eating & drinking habits, income & expenditure, health, education, etc. These reports enable users to compare similarities and differences in lifestyles across countries.
Plunkett Research Online is an excellent resource for industry overviews and statistics. For each industry Plunkett Research contains Market Research & Trends, Statistics, Company Profiles, Associations/Organizations, Company Contacts, and Glossary.
The one-page company profiles offer a quick glance at a company. For Company Information, Plunkett contains the following information:
Type of Business
Growth Plan and Special Features (generally unique information not found elsewhere)
Salaries and Benefits
Information about if the company employs a good number of minorities or women.
Industry almanacs are updated annually. The following industries are included in the database:
Airline, Hotel & Travel
Alternative & Renewable Energy
Apparel & Textiles
Banking, Mortgages & Credit
Chemicals, Plastics & Coatings
E-Commerce & Internet
Energy & Utilities
Engineering & Research
Entertainment & Media
Food, Beverage & Tobacco Health Care
InfoTech, Software & Hardware
Investment & Securities
Middle Market Companies
Nanotechnology & MEMs
Outsourcing & Offshoring
Real Estate & Construction
Transportation & Logistics
Wireless, Cellular & Wi-Fi
A fantastic source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. The primary area of focus is on companies with at least $10 Million in annual revenue. It has profiles for over 850,000 firms, 20,000 investors and 100,000 private market deals. Whether doing company, investor, M&A, venture capital funding, or private equity research, PrivCo is searchable by advanced criteria in all categories.
Access Info: Athens Campus Only
PrivCo requires that users create an account in order to use the database. Please use your @ohio.edu email address.
The *new* interface for Simmons. Contains demographic information about users of specific consumer products including: what they use, income and educational level, what types of media they use, and more.
Note: Simmons Insights is limited to 50 users at a time.
Access Info: Athens Campus Only
Simmons provides information on consumer usage behavior for all major media, more than 450 product categories and over 8,000 brands. And it includes in-depth demographic, psychographic, and lifestyle descriptions of all Americans, including the diverse Hispanic/Latino market, with an added sample of 8,000 Hispanics above and beyond the general market survey of 25,000 respondents. Additional Hispanic demographics, language preferences and media.
SimplyAnalytics(formerly SimplyMap) provides demographic, business, or marketing data down to the local level, allowing users to create customized maps and reports with an almost unlimited number of variables.
Note: Our subscription only allows for 10 users to log on at one time
In order to “Sign In” to SimplyMap, you need to create an account with SimplyMap first (use your @ohio.edu email address and whatever password you wish). This is optional, as you can just enter as a guest. Users who would like to save their work should “Create an Account.”
SimplyMap provides nation-wide data by state, county, ZIP code, census tract, and census block-group geographies. The following types of data are available in our SimplyMap subscription:
Provides case studies, reports, interviews, and more in all areas of sponsorship, media, marketing, digital strategies, merchandising, and hosting. Particularly useful in understanding the business of sport, following trends, and learning best practices.
Also provides sport media consumption, sports popularity by country data, sports sponsorship deals, and sports media rights deals.
Our Subscription to SportBusiness contains three different modules:
SportBusiness Professsional — provides in-depth case studies, reports, interviews, and more in the areas of sponsorship, media, marketing, digital strategies, merchandising, and hosting. Particularly useful in understanding the business of sport, following trends, and learning best practices.
Use Fan Tracker : Media to gather sports media consumption data from 13 global markets.
Use Fan Tracker : Sports to understand the popularity of sports and sports properties in 13 global markets.
SportBusiness Sponsorship — Provides global coverage on new deals in sport sponsorship; includes analysis of rights fees, contract duration, deal strategies, and more.
Use the Deals Tracker (found under the Sport Business Sponsorship navigation menu) to access sponsorship deals from the top 2,00 sports properties. Can be filtered by sport, industry, and sponsorship type.
SportBusiness Media — Provides global coverage of sports media rights deals.
Provides statistics on sports participation, sports venue revenues, sporting goods sales, and much more. (formerly SBRnet)
Contains a wealth of information about the sports industry. Information includes:
Sports Participation Trends; Sporting goods market trends and statistics;
Sports venue data, including sales and revenues for college and professional sports venues; Sports Fan reports;Organization directories.
A good place to find articles on sports business. Note that in addition to sports business publications, you will also find publications that deal with sports medicine, exercise science, coaching, and sports education topics. SPORTDiscus also contains publications for niche sports activities and markets, such as Backpacker, Cross Country Skier, Equus, Dirt Biker, and many more.
An online directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries, and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. The database can be searched by SIC code, zip code, number of employees, location, keyword, and more, to generate a list of companies and their subsidiaries.
Uniworld is an excellent source of information on multinational firms operating around the world. U.S. companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations–wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch. Non U.S. companies (foreign firms) listed have substantial investment within the United States.
The Wall Street Journal publishes business and finance new from around the globe. Electronic access to the Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided via the library’s subscription to Proquest Newspapers.
Does not include listings for stocks, bonds, funds, etc.
Earlier years are available on microfilm. Alden Library has issues beginning in 1927. See ALICE for complete holdings and locations at other campuses.
Wall Street Journal may also be found by searching Factiva, although the Proquest search interface is arguably easier to use.
"Designed for the world’s marketing services sector, and used by advertising and media agencies, research companies, media owners, marketing consultants and top business schools. WARC.com supplies its users with information in key areas critical to their success, including communications effectiveness, media planning and buying, market research and methods, and consumer insight and behaviour.” “The WARC.com database contains over 25,000 articles, case studies, research reports and summaries covering all areas of marketing communications drawn from more than 30 leading content sources worldwide.” (excerpt from About and Content sections of WARC).