BizMiner produces the most granular industry statistical reports in the market. We offer industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Our market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code.”
A great resource to get a broad understanding of large industries within the United States.
Use this as an introduction to industries to become more familiar with what’s happening in your prospective industry.
Note: Many business students have a tendency to overuse IbisWorld in their papers and projects. IbisWorld is a great place to get started, but I can guarantee that students who depend too much on the reports without consulting numerous other sources will not do as well on their projects. You need to consult multiple resources to have a well-rounded view of your industry.
IBISWorld contains in-depth, regularly updated industry reports for over 700 United States NAICS-classified industries. Each report averages 25-30 pages in length, and contains the following information:
Note: Ohio University Libraries only subscribes to the Industry Market Research and Company Research Components. All other components of the database are not included in the library’s subscription.
Contains authoritative analyst reports covering companies, industries, products and markets. Find stock reports and equity reports from Deutche Bank, J.P. Morgan, Global Data, Marketline, Wells Fargo, and many more investment firms.
Because you can find many analyst (stock) reports for the same company from many different firms, Investext is a great tool to use to get information from a variety of sources.
The industry search is pretty clunky, so you may have better results finding industry information by searching for companies within the industry.
Provides access to competitive benchmarking data, featuring 14 key business and financial ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. Contains industry balance sheet and income statement information along with financial ratios organized by SIC codes.
There is not an easy way to search Key Business Ratios. I’ve found the best way to use the interface is to browse by the broad industry drop-down menus. Also note that the KBR industry coverage is not as granular as Bizminer, which has a more narrow focus.
The industry reports found in Mergent Online offer broad coverage of around 30 of the largest global industries, with coverage for North America, Europe, Asia, and global geographic areas.
The reports average about 30 pages in length, and cover current environment; environmental, social, and governance (ESG), industry profile, market trends and outlook. Also include is a country profile for some of the major markets within each region.
Description: “Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, insightful articles from expert industry and country analysts. The database enables users to gain a full understanding of consumer market performance trends and drivers at a sector level. Passport also contains Consumer Lifestyle reports that examine how people live their lives and the factors influencing lifestyle choices for 72 countries. Topics examined include population segmentation, home ownership trends, eating & drinking habits, income & expenditure, health, education, etc. These reports enable users to compare similarities and differences in lifestyles across countries.
Plunkett Research Online is an excellent resource for industry overviews and statistics. For each industry Plunkett Research contains Market Research & Trends, Statistics, Company Profiles, Associations/Organizations, Company Contacts, and Glossary.
The one-page company profiles offer a quick glance at a company. For Company Information, Plunkett contains the following information:
Type of Business
Growth Plan and Special Features (generally unique information not found elsewhere)
Salaries and Benefits
Information about if the company employs a good number of minorities or women.
Industry almanacs are updated annually. The following industries are included in the database:
Airline, Hotel & Travel
Alternative & Renewable Energy
Apparel & Textiles
Banking, Mortgages & Credit
Chemicals, Plastics & Coatings
E-Commerce & Internet
Energy & Utilities
Engineering & Research
Entertainment & Media
Food, Beverage & Tobacco Health Care
InfoTech, Software & Hardware
Investment & Securities
Middle Market Companies
Nanotechnology & MEMs
Outsourcing & Offshoring
Real Estate & Construction
Transportation & Logistics
Wireless, Cellular & Wi-Fi