An excellent resource for company profiles, news, analyst reports, SWOT analyses, executive information, company financials, and other company-related information.
It is also a good resource for some global industry and market research reports.
Note: D&B Hoovers only allows 50 users on the site at the same time. If that limit is reached, users will see a weird D&B login screen. The D&B login screen will not work, and will not allow additional logons (it’s not an issue with your account, trust me). Just try again later when some of the other users log off.
Contains authoritative analyst reports covering companies, industries, products and markets. Find stock reports and equity reports from Deutche Bank, J.P. Morgan, Global Data, Marketline, Wells Fargo, and many more investment firms.
Because you can find many analyst (stock) reports for the same company from many different firms, Investext is a great tool to use to get information from a variety of sources.
The industry search is pretty clunky, so you may have better results finding industry information by searching for companies within the industry.
Plunkett Research Online is an excellent resource for industry overviews and statistics. For each industry Plunkett Research contains Market Research & Trends, Statistics, Company Profiles, Associations/Organizations, Company Contacts, and Glossary.
The one-page company profiles offer a quick glance at a company. For Company Information, Plunkett contains the following information:
Type of Business
Growth Plan and Special Features (generally unique information not found elsewhere)
Salaries and Benefits
Information about if the company employs a good number of minorities or women.
Industry almanacs are updated annually. The following industries are included in the database:
Airline, Hotel & Travel
Alternative & Renewable Energy
Apparel & Textiles
Banking, Mortgages & Credit
Chemicals, Plastics & Coatings
E-Commerce & Internet
Energy & Utilities
Engineering & Research
Entertainment & Media
Food, Beverage & Tobacco Health Care
InfoTech, Software & Hardware
Investment & Securities
Middle Market Companies
Nanotechnology & MEMs
Outsourcing & Offshoring
Real Estate & Construction
Transportation & Logistics
Wireless, Cellular & Wi-Fi
A fantastic source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. The primary area of focus is on companies with at least $10 Million in annual revenue. It has profiles for over 850,000 firms, 20,000 investors and 100,000 private market deals. Whether doing company, investor, M&A, venture capital funding, or private equity research, PrivCo is searchable by advanced criteria in all categories.
Access Info: Athens Campus Only
PrivCo requires that users create an account in order to use the database. Please use your @ohio.edu email address.
An online directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries, and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. The database can be searched by SIC code, zip code, number of employees, location, keyword, and more, to generate a list of companies and their subsidiaries.
Uniworld is an excellent source of information on multinational firms operating around the world. U.S. companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations–wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch. Non U.S. companies (foreign firms) listed have substantial investment within the United States.