Company Information
The following databases will allow you to look up information about media companies, such as a profile of the company, subsidiaries, target audiences, competition, and more.
Search for the name of the media company you are interested in, such as Sony, Viacom, etc. If you cannot find your company in one of these databases, try another one because they all contain different sets of companies.
Business Librarian Chad Boeninger has an excellent resource guide with more information on library resources useful for researching a single company.
-
Mergent OnlineMergent Online offer extensive company financials, filings, equity and industry reports, and much more. Information can be screened, selected, and downloaded.
- Contains global company information, annual reports, EDGAR filings, current news stories, and some international industry reports
- A good source for SEC filings and other company financial information
- Contains subsidiaries, executive compensation(salaries) and biographical information
- Allows for comparison of multiple companies, with the criteria that you select
-
D&B HooversIncludes company profiles, news, business and trade articles, SWOT analyses, research reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence and financial data on businesses.
-
Nexis Uni
Collection of full-text databases especially good for news, legal sources, and business. Content includes:
- National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources
- U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information
- All U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789
- Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news
lexis lexus"
-
Business Source CompleteContains over 13,000 periodicals indexed and abstracted, with more than 10,000 full text, covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business, among others. The database has magazines, newspapers, academic journals, company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and more. The Company Profiles section of the database contains Datamonitor reports for major U.S. and international companies.
Industry Information
The following databases are for searching for information on the media industry in general.
To search these databases, you often need to know the North American Industry Classification (NAICS) code for your company. This can be usually found in the description for your company that you found in the company databases above. Look for the "NAICS" code, which will be a number listed on a company profile page.
For example, this Mergent profile for the China Media Group shows that the NAICS code is 541870 for Advertising Material Distribution Services.
-
First Research
First Research provides unlimited access to an online library of profiles on over 600 industry segments. This powerful research tool features in-depth, up-to-date information and gives you the insight you need to provide greater value to students, professors, small business owners and job seekers. Profiles are comprehensive and includes the following:
- Industry overviews
- The competitive landscape
- Products, operations and technology
- Finance and regulation
- Regional and international issues
- Human resources
- Labor statistics
-
IBISWorld USAIBISWorld contains in-depth, regularly updated industry reports for over 700 United States NAICS classified industries. Each report averages 25-30 pages in length and contains:
- Key Statistics;
- Segmentation;
- Market Characteristics;
- Industry Conditions;
- Key Factors;
- Key Competitors;
- Industry Performance;
- Outlook