Start Your Research with Background Information
Why start with background research?
If you have ever looked at a Wikipedia page, you know the value of a good overview of a topic you need to research.
Wikipedia has its uses, but there are also some great library resources that can help you get started with a journalism research project. A good background source will:
- Give you an overview of the topic and the sub-topics that are often up for debate
- Define important terms (events, people, definitions) that you'll need to know to understand the topic. These terms usually make good words with which to search for further resources.
- Suggest further readings to help you go forward with your research.
Online reference books for background research:
Check these online books for background information on your journalism or media-related topic.
- The International Encyclopedia of Communication byPublication Date: 2008If you are research a topic in communication that is new to you, I highly recommend the International Encyclopedia of Communication. You can find descriptions of many communication-related topics as well as suggested further readings.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781412959193Publication Date: 2010-09-01This is an excellent source to look at when you are exploring a new theory. Get background on the theory, its development and find suggestions for further reading to take you forward.- Encyclopedia of Communication byPublication Date: 2003
- Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture byPublication Date: 2009This encyclopedia gives overviews on topics specific to political communication topics. If you're looking at any topic related to political communication or politics in the media, this is the source for you.
- 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook byPublication Date: 2009This handbook contains 100 chapters that focus on both communication studies and media/journalism topics.
Other online sources for background research in Communication Studies:
- Oxford Bibliographies - CommunicationOxford Bibliographies gives you an overview of many communication-related topics as well as a bibliography of suggested sources for further research.
- Oxford Bibliographies - Cinema & Media StudiesOxford Bibliographies give you an overview of topics in cinema and media studies. Each entry also includes an annotated bibliography of sources to include in your research.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGVRL is a collection of online books that you can search all at once. There books here are on a wide range of topics, not just communication topics. This is useful for getting background information on historical events or topics that may have a non-communication dimension, such as health issues or political issues.