Library Guides: Journalism: Research media by country

Find Media Info on a Specific Country

Europa World Plus
Provides economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country, and includes thousands of directory contact details with click-through web links and a comprehensive listing of some 1,900 international organizations.

International Encyclopedia of Communication
Search for country AND media. Many countries have a whole article devoted to the media in that country. Some articles are also based on regions.

Passport GMID
Passport GMID offers comprehensive coverage of international consumer markets, consumer lifestyles in other countries, economic statistics, demographic forecasting, and more. The database enables users to gain a full understanding of consumer market performance trends and drivers at a sector level. Passport also contains Consumer Lifestyle reports that examine how people live their lives and the factors influencing lifestyle choices for 72 countries. Topics examined include population segmentation, home ownership trends, eating & drinking habits, income & expenditure, health, education, etc. These reports enable users to compare similarities and differences in lifestyles across countries. Markets of the Future Reports are now new this site.
Statista

Statista is an excellent source of business, economic, political, social, and historical statistics. It is a great place to simply search for your topic to find loads of relevant and useful statistics.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Contains a wide variety of statistics on progress on the UN Sustainable Development goals including education, literacy, science and technology, and culture and communication.
UN Data
The UN Data site provides a wide variety of statistics that can be searched from the home page. Scroll down and you can also browse the stastics by topic. Check out the section on Information and Communication Technolgoy.
ITU: Market Information and Statistics
Links to national organizations providing statistics on telecommunication. Links compiled by the International Telecommunication Union.
World Press Encyclopedia
The World Press Encyclopedia includes an entry on more than 200 countries. The report includes general information on the country's politics, history, and economic situation and describes the development and current state of the local media system. Entries also include some basic economic and communication statistics.

Be sure to check the bibliography at the end of the entry - it may link you to invaluable resources that were used to write the encyclopedia entry.
Encyclopedia of international media and communications
The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communication, available in print on the 2nd floor reference shelving (at call number P87.5 .E532 2003), includes regional articles on freedom of the press, as well as country-specific media information. Also includes a bibliography of other sources at the end of each article, so check these for other sources of information.

University Libraries

Journalism

Find Media Info on a Specific Country

OHIO UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES