Lexicity
Lexicity advertises itself as "the first and only comprehensive index for ancient language resources on the internet."
Contains links to dictionaries, grammars, charts and aids, texts, and other source on the following languages:
- Akkadian
- Aramaic
- Coptic
- Egyptian
- Ethiopic
- Georgian
- Gothic
- Greek
- Hebrew
- Latin
- Old Church Slavonic
- Old English
- Old Norse
- Sanskrit
- Syriac
- Ugaritic
Language Dictionaries
Print dictionaries are located in the Reference Collection (2nd floor of Alden Library) and on the 7th floor. Greek dictionaries are in the PA445 call number range; Latin ones are in PA2365 area. Dictionaries shelved on the 7th floor may be checked out.
- Lewis and Short's A Latin DictionaryLatin-English only. This dictionary, published in 1879, is the predecessor to the Oxford Latin Dictionary. This online version comes from the Perseus Project.
- Online Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English LexiconFree online version of the standard dictionary for Classical Greek. You will need to set your keyboard to work with Greek fonts. There are also several printed copies in Alden Library.
- Oxford Latin DictionaryThe standard scholarly Latin-English dictionary. More Latin dictionaries, including the Lewis and Short dictionary which was the predecessor of this one, in the PA2365 call number range.
- Thesaurus linguae Latinae"The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is not only the largest Latin dictionary in the world, but also the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).
"The database contains all content that is also available in print." (from the Product Information page) - Woodhouse's English-Greek DictionaryScanned page images from this dictionary, originally pubished in 1910.
Grammars
Greek grammars and elementary textbooks are found in and around the PA258 call number range on the 7th floor of Alden Library. For Latin, try browsing in the PA2087 area.
For a nice collection of online grammars and other aids, see below:
- Ancient Greek TutorialsOnline drills and lists on pronunciation, accentuation, principal parts of verbs, vocabulary, verbs and nouns, English-Greek, and sets of paradigms. Although much of it is based on Donald J. Mastronarde's Introduction to Attic Greek, the tutorials should be helpful to anyone learning ancient Greek from any textbook.
- Greek Language and LinguisticsWell-organized site with pages on the Greek alphabet, dictionaries, epigraphy, fonts, software, lessons in classical and Hellenistic Greek, manuscripts, and more.
- Textkit: Greek & Latin Learning ToolsCollection of aids for learning Greek and Latin: reference grammars, textbooks, reading texts, etc. in PDF format. The editions are old and out-of-copyright, but include standard grammars such as Smyth's Greek Grammar and Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar. All downloadable for free.