Reference Tools: Print and Online
Encyclopedias, such as those listed on this page, can be great places go start your research.
- The less you know about a subject, the more useful it may be to start by reading a few encyclopedia articles on the topic.
- At the end of many encyclopedia articles you can find brief listings of books, articles, etc. for more information on the topic.
General
-
New Pauly OnlineOnline. Brief entries on all aspects of ancient Greece and Rome, from the Aegean Bronze Age to Late Antiquity. English translation of a major German reference work.
-
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Online. Contains brief entries on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity: Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. -
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeOnline. Contains articles on the "major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries."
Places
-
Ancient places shown on Google MapsAerial photographs of ancient sites, arranged by name of modern country.
-
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
This lavish, oversized volume contains 102 color topographic maps (many double spreads) and covering territory, from the Atlantic Ocean to Afghanistan and western China. Temporally, it covers the period from 1,000 BC/BCE to AD/CE 650. -
Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval CivilizationA series of maps and geodatabases bearing on multiple aspects of Roman and medieval civilization in the broadest terms
-
Digital Augustan RomeA visual synopsis of what is known about the city of Rome c.A.D. 14
-
ORBIS: The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman WorldFocuses on transportation and travel routes, but has much else besides.
-
Roundup of Resources on Ancient Geography"...links to digital project dealing with geography and the ancient world. It is an eclectic list, culled mostly from entries in AWOL. It has no pretentions of being complete or comprehensive, but is offered to give readers a sense of the range of materials currently accessible."
Special Topics
-
Bibliographia Latina Selecta"A brief bibliographical survey of the main classical Latin authors and a selection of the literature available in classical Latin literature and linguistics. This bibliography is continually updated with new bibliographies, text editions and monographs on subjects and authors."
-
Brill's New Pauly: Chronologies of the Ancient World--Names, Dates and DynastiesComprehensive, up-to-date listing of emperors, kings, princes, etc. from a large number of ancient societies. Includes Egypt, Mesopotamia, Israel, Anatolia, Greece, Rome, and many others. A very convenient source for discovering "who ruled when."
-
Diophant Ancient Measures ConverterReference tables for converting ancient measures of area, distance, liquids and dry materials, numerals, etc. into modern measurement systems. Available as a set of PDF files from the site, or a downloadable program for Windows.
-
Encyclopedia of Greek TragedyPrint. Covers all aspects of Greek tragedies including the 32 extant plays and playwrights of the period, including information on some lost works and surviving fragments. Call number: Ref. PA3133 .E53 2014