L'Annee Philologique and Other Classics Databases
The Library Search Catalog will help you with basic research in Classics.
For in-depth research, however, use L'Annee Philologique, the main research database for Classics.
- Includes journal articles, books, dissertations, etc.
- Coverage is from 1924 to date.
- Print volumes on the 7th floor of Alden (call number: Z7016 .M35A) also go back to 1924.
- Search for either ancient authors or modern scholars, as well as various subjects and disciplines.
And don't worry about the French title; a loose translation is "The year in Classical Studies." The database is very international in scope, with an English interface and many English-language sources.
Other Databases
-
Dyabola: Subject Catalogues of the German Archaeological InstituteSpecialized database for journal articles in classics and classical archaeology.
-
Gnomon Online"The Gnomon Online database provides access to the complete journal "Gnomon" (since 1928) and the quarterly bibliographic appendix to "Gnomon" from 1990 onwards." Not as comprehensive as L'Annee Philologique (above), but easier to use.
-
NESTOR: Bibliography of Aegean Prehistory and Related AreasBibliographic database of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. The time frame is the prehistoric period in the regions covered, from the Paleolithic through the end of the Geometric period.
-
ZENON DAIAn alternate, more user-friendly, interface to Dyabola (above). From the German Archaeological Institute.
Journal Abbreviations
- Abbreviations used in the American Journal of Archaeology (and other sources, such as Nestor)
- https://proxy.library.ohio.edu/login?url=https://apps.brepolis.net/LTool/Entrance.aspx?w=30