Sports Industry Guides
Sports Sponsorship & Marketing
Key tips and tools to align fan demographics with products, companies, industries, and markets.
SASM 3760 Sport Facility and Event Management
A guide for researching international markets and cities for sports venue bids
Sports Administration & Sport Management
Resources for sports administration, sport business, and athletic administration
Sport Industry Databases
Almost any business database can be used for sports industry information. This page lists databases that specifically cover sport, but I encourage you to use other industry databases, marketing databases, and article databases for your research.
Check out the Industry & Market Research Basics Tutorial to learn how to use the general industry and market research databases. The 60-minute tutorial will give you a foundation in using library databases to conduct industry and consumer market research, which will be useful for sports industry and sports marketing projects.
SportBusiness
- SportBusiness
Provides case studies, reports, interviews, and more in all areas of sponsorship, media, marketing, digital strategies, merchandising, and hosting. Particularly useful in understanding the business of sport, following trends, and learning best practices.
Also provides sport media consumption, sports popularity by country data, sports sponsorship deals, and sports media rights deals.
SBRNet (Sport Market Analytics)
- SBRNet (Sport Market Analytics)
Provides statistics on sports fan demographics, sports participation, sports venue revenues, sporting goods sales, and much more.
SPORTDiscus
- SPORTDiscus
A good place to find articles on sports business. Note that in addition to sports business publications, you will also find publications that deal with sports medicine, exercise science, coaching, and sports education topics. SPORTDiscus also contains publications for niche sports activities and markets, such as Backpacker, Cross Country Skier, Equus, Dirt Biker, and many more.
Business Source Complete
- Business Source Complete
Provides full text access of more than 3500 journals, trade publications, magazines, company reports, and more, in the disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Also useful for finding company profiles, industry profiles, and SWOT analysis for companies.
Business Source Complete can be a great resource when looking for articles about sport teams, marketing, properties, fans, and more. I recommend you use both SPORTDiscus and Business Source Complete to make sure you have covered all your bases. (pun intended).
Mintel
- Mintel
Contains market research reports for specific consumer product categories. Also useful for sport business marketing. Covers US and some International marketplaces. Especially useful for consumer demographics, psychographics, buying behavior, motivations, and more.
