Head of User Services
& Business Librarian
Almost any business database can be used for sports industry information. This page lists databases that specifically cover sport, but I encourage you to use other industry databases, marketing databases, and article databases for your research.
Check out the Industry & Market Research Basics Tutorial to learn how to use the general industry and market research databases. The 60-minute tutorial will give you a foundation in using library databases to conduct industry and consumer market research, which will be useful for sports industry and sports marketing projects.
Tools for broad industry research
- Use IbisWorld to search for “sports franchises” to get a general overview of the industry in the U.S.
- IbisWorld is also a great resource to get a broad understanding of other large industries, such as the casual dining industry in the U.S.
- First Research provides quick and easy to understand industry analyses
- Search for “professional sports” to find a very useful report.
- Similarly, First Research will have reports that cover the broad industry of your potential sponsor.
- First Research
Provides industry profiles on over 600 industry segments. The reports are very easy to read and can help you gather a quick understanding of the industry.
- Statista is a great place to look for a variety of sports statistics, covering revenues, attendance, participation, expenses, and more.
- Statista may also have statistics on the industry of your sponsor, as well as statistics about the company and competitors.
- Passport has some useful information in a report called “Sporting and Recreational Services" for several major international markets. You can find this report by searching for the title in the Passport search box.
- Also use Passport to understand consumer industries in countries around the world, including the USA. Use this data to better understand your sponsor's industry.
- Passport
Passport offers comprehensive coverage of international consumer markets, consumer lifestyles in other countries, economic statistics, demographic forecasting, and industry reports for most major markets and consumer products, and more.
