University Libraries

This resource is a digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers.

Full text of more than 100,000 pages of diaries, memoirs, and letters written by more than 2,000 participants in the American Civil War.

Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals

Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (EighteenthCenturyJournals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (EighteenthCenturyJournals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (EighteenthCenturyJournalsIII) and Chetham's Library, Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds (Eighteenth CenturyJournals IV).

This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century life.

Women: Transnational Networks consists of primary source materials focusing on class and gender and is part of a larger series, Nineteenth Century Collections Online. Coverage is European and North American and dates of coverage include the some early 18th century materials up to and including the early 20th century with a particular focus on British materials.

Includes more than authors and approximately 100,000 pages contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, which provide a unique and personal view immigrants' experiences in America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women, as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters....The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Our collection includes more than 5,000 books on Brooklyn's history, historical maps and atlases, yearbooks and newspapers from dozens of local high schools, a wide variety of ephemera, the Brooklyn Daily Eagle Newspaper clippings morgue, and local newspapers on microfilm.

Featured here are stage and costume designs, photographs, posters, playbills, programs, and playscripts, including productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and Power, a topical drama of the period.

Browseable and searchable collection of United States books and journals, primarily published between 1850 and 1877. Courtesy of University of Michigan and Cornell.

visual and audio images drawn from the extensive archival collections at The Library, the site features an authentic look at this past, from the Broadway theater and Tin Pan Alley to the art of dancer Loie Fuller and composer Charles Griffes, all brought to you in original documents.