Finding Newspapers for Your Research
General Newspaper Resources (Best for post-1980)
-
Access World NewsUse Access World News to find the text of newspapers and blogs published by news outlets, as well as transcripts of television and radio news programs, both local and national. Content can be searched by keyword or you can browse for a specific date. Access World News also compiles a daily list of major US headlines. Ohio-based news sources including the Athens Messenger from 2009 to the present
-
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides access to cover-to-cover full text articles from more than 40 US and international newspapers, and selective full text from nearly 400 regional US newspapers. Access to select full text television and radio news transcripts is also provided.
-
Nexis Uni
Collection of full-text databases especially good for news, legal sources, and business. Content includes:
- National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources
- U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information
- All U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789
- Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news
lexis lexus"
-
US Newsstream
Recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. To see all publications available in this database, select Publications" near the search options."
-
Alternative Press Index
Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.