Search by title
If you have a newspaper title
If you know the title of a newspaper for the place you're interested in (and it's totally OK to use Google and Wikipedia here) then you can use a periodical title search in the Library Catalog to see if we have access to that newspaper online or in some analog format.
Once you find the newspaper, you can search it for the topic or article you need.
Search ALICE for a newspaper title
Enter the name of the newspaper you want, and click search
If there is more than one item, choose you need. Online newspapers will have [electronic resource] inlcuded in their title
Click the link to go to the database. There may be more than one, with different dates. Choose the option that fits the date range you need.
Use a Full Text Newspaper Database
Another strategy is to use one of our full text newspaper databases and to limit your search by location. The full text newspaper databases listed below all let you see a list of newspapers for a specific country, state, or city.
-
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
-
Access Newspaper Archive: Ohio Collection
Access Newspaper ARCHIVE contains searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. Use the archive to view, save and print full-page newspapers from around the world.
-
African American Newspapers 1827-1998
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
-
Indigenous Newspapers in North AmericaFrom historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
-
Appalachia News SourcesIncludes newspapers, local broadcast news transcripts, and regional newswires from Appalachia.
-
Chronicling AmericaThe Advanced Search tool lets you choose a newspaper by state.
-
World Newspaper Archive, African Newspapers Series 1 (1800-1922)
Searchable online collection of digitized historical Sub-Saharan African newspapers in English and foreign-language titles published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featured countries include Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa and more. Newspapers include key publications like the East African Standard, Mombasa Times & Uganda Argus (Kenya), Leselinyana la Lesutho (Lesotho), Beira Post (Mozambique), Lagos Standard (Nigeria). Excellent primary source for researching issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples between 1800 and 1922; from repercussions of the Atlantic slave trade, life under colonial rule and the results of the Berlin Conference to the emergence of Black journalism, the Zulu Wars and the rejection of Western imperialism. Part of the World Newspaper Archive collection.