University Libraries

Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.

Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

African American Newspapers in the South comprises sixteen newspapers, all manually rekeyed to provide better search and accessibility. They provide a unique journalistic record of the African American experience in the segregated American South. Included are complete runs of newspapers from the District of Columbia, Georgia, Louisiana, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and West Virginia: The collection documents the African American press in the southern United States from Reconstruction through the Jazz Age. Written by African Americans for African Americans, the firsthand reporting, editorials, and features kept readers abreast of current domestic and international events, often focusing on racial issues. The editors didn't shy away from exposing discrimination and violence, including the emotionally laden topic of lynching. Yet the newspapers also covered lighter fare, reporting on civic and religious events, politics, foreign affairs, local gossip, and more.;"Newspapers included:";"

• The Advocate

Ser.1, 1690-1876. This collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, and in additional subsequent bibliographies. -- Series 2, 1758-1900. Series 2 offers more than 290 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from every region of the United States. Series 2 focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically. -- Ser.4, 1756-1922. Series 4 of Early American Newspapers offers several hundred thousand fully searchable issues from more than 110 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states.--Ser. 5, 1777-1922. This collection presents 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states, including the North Star, the famous anti-slavery newspaper founded by Frederick Douglass.-- Ser. 6 includes more than 160 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers, including titles of unique historical significance, regional weeklies and big-city dailies. -- Ser. 7. includes many new titles of singular importance, including New Orleans' Times-Picayune, established in 1837 and one of the South's most prominent newspapers, and The Oregonian, founded in 1850 in Portland and still the state's largest daily. -- Hispanic American newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English. -- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, includes newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. -- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. --Texas Historical Newspapers Archive, 1836-1977.

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the other side of the story

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.