Google Books and Hathi Trust
Hathi Trust and Google Books are two large, ongoing projects whose goals are to create accessible e-archives of books from around the world.
Although there is much duplication of content between these two archives, each has unique items.
Hathi Trust has a better search than Google Books.
Full text will usually be available for items published before 1923 (cutoff date in US copyright law); full text may or not be available for more recent publications, depending on the wishes of the copyright holders.
Open Access Books
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. (web page)
- DOAB: Directory of Open Access BooksThe primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
- An International Database of Shakespeare on Film, Television and RadioCourtesy of British Universities Film & Video Council, This authoritative online database of Shakespeare-related content in film, television, radio and video recordings is international in scope, is regularly updated and currently holds nearly 8,000 records dating from the 1890s to the present day.
- Internet Archive Text ArchiveHuge database of various media, the Internet Archive is contains film, texts, photographs. The resource you are looking for might be in here!
- Open LibraryOne web page for every book ever published. It's a lofty but achievable goal. You never know what might be in here!
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg offers over 45,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.