University Libraries

A site devoted to primary source material in American history.

This resource is a digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers.

American History, 1493-1945 | American Indian Histories and Cultures | American West |
Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800-1920
Popular Culture 1950-1975 | Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice | Virginia Company Archives

Over 1100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900.

Contains the collection of over 2,000 interviews conducted in seventeen states between 1936 and 1938 under the Federal Writers' Project of the Work Progress Administration

Digital versions of early American books listed in the American Bibliography by Charles Evans. Documents in the collection cover early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more.

Searchable full text of the digital images of about 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, comprising "in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom.

Newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the a variety of library collections, includng Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library.

Access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history.

New Resource! Digital compliation of primary source documents, 1543-1945, concerning international women's history and liberation movements.

1901-1919, Archives and Special Collections. Most of this is kept at Annex.

1850-1899, part of Making of America.

Interwar Culture offers a vast collection of popular and lesser-known periodicals published during the dynamic yet turbulent decades, 1917-1930. Articles covering arts and culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues as well as a wealth of writing from some of the most prominent literary figures of the era. Titles include Chums, The Dial, The Strand, Theatre Magazine, Women's Home Companion, The Century Magazine, and more.

Browseable and searchable collection of United States books and journals, primarily published between 1850 and 1877. Courtesy of University of Michigan and Cornell.

Major resource for the study of modernism and its rise in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922.

Primary source materials focusing on class and gende. Coverage is European and North American and dates of coverage include the some early 18th century materials up to and including the early 20th century with a particular focus on British materials.

Includes more than authors and approximately 100,000 pages contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, which provide a unique and personal view immigrants' experiences in America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women, as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters....The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 1752 texts included (1602 unedited, 155 fully edited and encoded) by 845 authors.