British Library - Turning the Pages
Google Books and Hathi Trust
Hathi Trust and Google Books are two large, ongoing projects whose goals are to create accessible e-archives of books from around the world.
Although there is much duplication of content between these two archives, each has unique items.
Hathi Trust has a better search than Google Books.
Full text will usually be available for items published before 1923 (cutoff date in US copyright law); full text may or not be available for more recent publications, depending on the wishes of the copyright holders.
Open Access Journals & Books
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. (web page)
- DOAB: Directory of Open Access BooksThe primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access JournalsAn online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
- Internet Archive Text ArchiveHuge database of various media, the Internet Archive is contains film, texts, photographs. The resource you are looking for might be in here!
- OAIsterOAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources. The records of the open access multidisciplinary digital resources available via OAIster lead to a wide range of materials and include: digitized (scanned) books, journal articles, newspapers, manuscripts and more, from more than 1000 contributors worldwide.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg offers over 45,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.