Peg’s Paper was a girl’s entertainment magazine, targeted mostly at a working class audience. It had a heavy focus on romantic fiction that often included cross-class romance, peril and sensation. Featured alongside this were fortune telling and astrological segments as well as gossip columns and advice. It was published weekly by C. Arthur Pearson, Ltd. of London, and ran from 1919-1940 for roughly 1100 issues.
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
50,000 images of original documents relating to Gender Studies. The images will be sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) will contain over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Tract Supplement.
The Text Creation Partnership creates standardized, accurate encoded electronic text editions of early print books. We transcribe and mark up the text from the millions of page images in ProQuest's Early English Books Online; otherwise, it can be a challenge reading original texts in EEBO.
Searchable full text of the digital images of about 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, comprising "in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom.
Newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Interwar Culture offers a vast collection of popular and lesser-known periodicals published during the dynamic yet turbulent decades, 1917-1930. Articles covering arts and culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues as well as a wealth of writing from some of the most prominent literary figures of the era. Titles include Chums, The Dial, The Strand, Theatre Magazine, Women's Home Companion, The Century Magazine, and more.
London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. In addition to the digital documents, the database contains a wealth of secondary resources, including a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to other useful websites.
Primary source materials focusing on class and gende. Coverage is European and North American and dates of coverage include the some early 18th century materials up to and including the early 20th century with a particular focus on British materials.
Punch, magazine of humour and satire, ran from 1841-2002. A British institution renowned internationally for its wit and irreverence,it introduced the term ' Cartoon ' as we know it today! (from web site).
Primary and secondary texts (including scholarly book reviews) in British Victorian economics, literature, philosophy, political and social history, science, technology, and visual arts (painting, architecture, sculpture, book design and illustration, photography, decorative arts, including ceramics, furniture, jewelry, metalwork, stained glass, and textiles, costume and various movements, such as Art Nouveau, Japonisme, and Arts and Crafts).