Consumers & Customers
Use the resources below to find market research reports, data, demographics, psychographics, and statistics about consumers and customers in the personal fitness industry.
- Search Mintel for "health and fitness clubs," "wellness," "healthy lifestyles," "exercise trends," "weight" etc. to find market research reports
- These reports will describe consumer motivations, customer demographics, market trends, and more.
- You can also use Mintel to find reports about specific demographic groups such as Boomers, Millennials, etc.
- Mintel
Contains market research reports for specific consumer product categories. Also useful for sport business marketing. Covers US and some International marketplaces. Especially useful for consumer demographics, psychographics, buying behavior, motivations, and more.
Use Simmons to find:
- national-level demographic profiles of fitness consumers.
- consumer attitudes about fitness, health, and wellness.
- demographics of consumers of specific fitness brands.
Note: For a basic demographic profile, use the Quick Reports found under "Essentials" as shown is this video.
- Simmons Insights
Contains demographic information about users of specific consumer products including: what they use, income and educational level, what types of media they use, and more. See my Simmons Tips & Tricks for help using the database.
Tips to find Fitness & Health Information in Simmons
- Use the Dictionary search to browse by data categories to find "physical fitness programs" or "sports-played" as shown in the image below
- Video tip: Use Simmons for finding demographics of personal fitness consumers.
- SBRNet (Sport Market Analytics)
Provides statistics on sports fan demographics, sports participation, sports venue revenues, sporting goods sales, and much more.
Use WARC to find articles, case studies and reports that discuss how companies are marketing to fitness consumers.
- Suggested search terms to start include "Peloton," "Fitbit," "fitness," wellness" etc.
- WARC _World Advertising Research Center
Contains over articles, case studies, research reports and summaries covering all areas of marketing communications. (Athens Campus Only)
Suggested searches include:
- Wearable electronics in [insert country]
- Sports nutrition in [insert country]
- Passport
Passport offers comprehensive coverage of international consumer markets, consumer lifestyles in other countries, economic statistics, demographic forecasting, and industry reports for most major markets and consumer products, and more.
