University Libraries

Covers 5 key cities in African American History: Atlanta, Chicago, New York, St. Louis and various towns in North Carolina. Contains newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, oral histories, and photographs from early 1800’s to present. Topics covered include desegregation, urban renewal, housing, civil rights, protests, race relations, labor history, and arts and culture.

Encyclopedia covering 500 years of African American history. Contains some primary source materials.

Contains Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, which features Interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience, The International Index to Black periodicals, which covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for many titles. The Marshall Index,a guide to black periodicals for the years 1940-1946.
Historic Black Newspapers, including the full digital files of The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) and The Daily Defender (1956-1975) and Black Literature Index, which features over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

Collection of encyclopedias, biographical sketches, maps, images covering 16th century to the present.

Module one (Federal government records) consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers and contains records of civil rights organization and personal papers on African American life in the 20th century. The second module (Organizational records and personal papers) is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies and contains records on the major milestones and events in the civil rights movement