Major Newspapers- Current and Historical
What role did media play? Discuss and show media depictions of case i.e. How was the case covered in the media (media bias)? Look at commentary, headlines, images etc (use may do this using separate slides for each case).
-
Newspapers (*mainstream African American owned and operated newspapers)
- Major US Newspapers
- Boston Globe (1872-1960) (1960-1981)
- *Chicago Defender Weekly ed. : (1909-1921) (1921-1967) (1968-1973) (1973-1975) Daily ed.: (1956-1960) (1960-1973)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1858) (1858-1859) (1859-1860) (1860-1864) (1864-1872) (1872-1963) (1963-1989)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1886) (1886-1988)
- New York Times (1851-1857) (1857-3 yrs ago)
- *Pittsburgh Courier (1911-1950) (1950-1954) (1955-1966) (1981-2002)
- Washington Post (1877-1954) (1954-1959) (1959-1973) (1974-1995)
- Major US Newspapers (post 1980 articles)
- Major US Newspapers
Weaver, Warren Jr. (October 13, 1977). Justices hear bakke arguments but give little hint on decision. New York Times.Retrieved from https://proxy.library.ohio.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.proxy.library.ohio.edu/docview/123103960?accountid=12954
Newspapers - Mainstream and Local
Newspaper article databases (non-mainstream)
The following Newspaper Article Databases compile many newspapers into one place. It's a great way to get the perspective of a particular state, region, as well as gathering a lot of information from many sources.
- Americas Newspapers - use this database if you TIMELINE is post-1995.
- Narrow by State
- Narrow by Year
-
Nexis Uni
Collection of full-text databases especially good for news, legal sources, and business. Content includes:
- National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources
- U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information
- All U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789
- Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news
lexis lexus"
Historical Newspapers
-
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. This collection includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.; and it encompasses the entire 19th century.
-
African American Newspapers 1827-1998
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
-
African American Newspapers in the South
African American Newspapers in the South comprises sixteen newspapers, all manually rekeyed to provide better search and accessibility. They provide a unique journalistic record of the African American experience in the segregated American South. Included are complete runs of newspapers from the District of Columbia, Georgia, Louisiana, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and West Virginia: The collection documents the African American press in the southern United States from Reconstruction through the Jazz Age. Written by African Americans for African Americans, the firsthand reporting, editorials, and features kept readers abreast of current domestic and international events, often focusing on racial issues. The editors didn't shy away from exposing discrimination and violence, including the emotionally laden topic of lynching. Yet the newspapers also covered lighter fare, reporting on civic and religious events, politics, foreign affairs, local gossip, and more.;"Newspapers included:";"
- The Advocate
-
Access Newspaper Archive: Ohio Collection
Access Newspaper ARCHIVE contains searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. Use the archive to view, save and print full-page newspapers from around the world.