The film databases below are specialized, as their content is not the usual mainstream collection of films. Alden Library has a multitude of films from mainstream feature films to independents to documentaries. Start here to begin your search.
The Media Education Foundation Gender Studies Collection (MEF) produces and distributes documentary films and other educational resources (including study guides and transcripts) to inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media.
Meet the Press (via VAST) - started in 1947 - Meet the Press is a weekly American television news/interview program airing on NBC. It is the longest-running television series in American broadcasting history.
The TV News Archive compiled by Vanderbilt University (1968-present) contains transcripts from U.S. news programs on major networks (ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, FOX, CSPAN, MSNBC, PBS and CNBC). Most transcripts are in abstract form; more recent broadcasts may be available instantly as streaming video.
NOTE: OU Faculty and graduate students may order videotape duplications of entire broadcasts, or compilation tapes of individual news stories specified by the borrower. Contact Alden Library Interlibrary Loan. Do not order directly through the TV News Archive website; Alden Library has an agreement with Vanderbilt and can assist in borrowing tapes. The Television News Archive will make a LENDING COPY that must be returned by Alden Library to Vanderbilt University at a pre-arranged date. Please allow at least 2 weeks for the tape(s) to arrive. Loan period is typically 30 days but requests to keep tapes longer are usually honored by the Archive.
A collection of streaming videos. Content includes documentaries, interviews, news programs and news reels, commercials and raw footage. If you create an account with VAST, you can create a collection of clips.
William Anthony "Tony" Brown is an American journalist, academian, comedian and businessman. He is best known as the commentator of the long running syndicated television show, Tony Brown's Journal. Brown is a member of Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity. (Wikipedia)
Conference proceedings of veteran and youth activists gathered at Shaw University in North Carolina to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), an organization which formed the vanguard of the Civil Rights Movement