University Libraries

An online archive funded by Marquette University and the National Endowment for the Humanities that shows the many ways children experienced city life during the last century and a half.

Data from the Children's Defense Fund about the health and welfare of children in each state.

This web site offers easy access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment,and education.

Child Trends helps keep the nation focused on children and their needs by identifying emerging issues; evaluating important programs and policies; and providing data-driven, evidence-based guidance on policy and practice.

A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, we provide access to print and electronic publications, websites, databases, and online learning tools for improving child welfare practice, including resources that can be shared with families.

The Child Welfare League of America (CWLA), the nation's oldest and largest membership-based child welfare organization, has been known and respected as a champion for children since 1920.

Report from CQ Researcher

The Adoption Institute's mission is to provide leadership that improves adoption laws, policies and practices - through sound research, education and advocacy - in order to better the lives of everyone touched by adoption.

The mission of The Future of Children is to translate the best social science research about children and youth into information that is useful to policymakers, practitioners, grant-makers, advocates, the media, and students of public policy.

The work of this organization strengthens family, school, and community partnerships, early childhood care and education, promotes evaluation and accountability, and offers professional development to those who work directly with children, youth, and families. The audiences for HFRP's work include policymakers, practitioners, researchers, evaluators, philanthropists, teachers, school administrators, and concerned individuals.

The mission of the Council is to synthesize and communicate science to help inform policies that promote successful learning, adaptive behavior, and sound physical and mental health for all young children.

Intercountry adoption is governed by both the laws of the country in which the child lives and the country in which the adoptive parents live. Under U.S. law, there are two distinct intercountry adoption processes: the Hague Convention process and the non-Hague Convention process.

The National Center for Adoption Law & Policy seeks to improve the law, policies, and practices associated with child protection and adoption systems. Every day we work towards realizing the goal that all children -- especially those who have been abused or neglected or are dependent on the state for their care -- have safe, healthy, permanent homes. Our primary tools in this regard are education, advocacy, and research.

The MISSION of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges is to provide all judges, courts, and related agencies involved with juvenile, family, and domestic violence cases with the knowledge and skills to improve the lives of the families and children who seek justice.

The National Survey of America's Families (NSAF) is part of The Urban Institute's Assessing the New Federalism (ANF) multi-year research project. Its purpose is to track the effects of recent federal policy changes decentralizing many social programs from the federal government to the states, focusing primarily on health care, income security, job training, and social services.

The Promising Practices Network began in 1997 as a partnership between four state-level organizations that help public and private organizations improve the well-being of children and families. Due to funding constraints, the PPN project has concluded. The PPN website was archived in June 2014 and has not been updated since then.

The Public Children Services Association of Ohio is a private non-profit association of the county public children services agencies and departments of job and family services agencies charged with preventing child abuse and neglect in Ohio. PCSAO is a proactive coalition of public children services agencies that promotes the development of sound public policy and program excellence for safe children, stable families, and strong communities.

ASFA was enacted in an attempt to correct problems that were inherent in the foster care system that deterred the adoption of children with special needs. Many of these problems had stemmed from an earlier bill, the Adoption Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980, although they had not been anticipated when that law was passed in as states decided to interpret that law as requiring biological families be kept together no matter what.The biggest change to the law was how ASFA amended Title IV-E of the Social Security Act regarding funding.

Each year, UNICEF's flagship publication, The State of the World's Children, closely examines a key issue affecting children. The report includes supporting data and statistics - to protect the rights and meet the needs of young children. Topics include: education, child labor, nutrition, girls, education and development.

SupportGuidelines.com is the comprehensive resource for the interpretation and application of child support guidelines in the United States. It is designed to be an aid primarily for attorneys who wish to research the law of child support in general and child support guidelines in particular.

Works to uphold the civil and constitutional rights of all Americans, particularly some of the most vulnerable members of our society. The Division enforces federal statutes prohibiting discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, disability, religion, familial status and national origin.

Civil Rights- an overview

Overview, discrimination, constitutional rights, and enforcing your civil rights.
Other topics: police misconduct, rights of inmates, civil rights. vs. civil liberties, etc.

The Leadership Conference is a 501(c)(4) organization that engages in legislative advocacy. It was founded in 1950 and has coordinated national lobbying efforts on behalf of every major civil rights law since 1957.

NASW supports full civil rights for all people.
Updates, issues, reports.

he FBI’s Criminal Justice Information Services Division, or CJIS, is a high-tech hub in the hills of West Virginia that provides a range of state of-the-art tools and services to law enforcement, national security and intelligence community partners, and the general public.

The Council of State Governments Justice Center is a national nonprofit organization that serves policymakers at the local, state, and federal levels from all branches of government. Staff provides practical, nonpartisan advice and evidence-based, consensus-driven strategies to increase public safety and strengthen communities.

The National Center for Victims of Crime is a nonprofit organization that advocates for victims' rights, trains professionals who work with victims, and serves as a trusted source of information on victims' issues. After more than 25 years, we remain the most comprehensive national resource committed to advancing victims' rights and helping victims of crime rebuild their lives.

Topics ranging from: corrections, courts, drugs, law enforcement, etc.

News, programs, training, etc.

Through comprehensive and coordinated efforts at the federal, state, and local levels, OJP’s Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) aims to reduce youth crime and violence.
Programs, funding, resources, etc.

Process, agencies, programs, data, etc.

The ADA National Network provides information, guidance and training on the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Our services are tailored to meet the needs of business, government and individuals at local, regional and national levels.

The Annual Disability Statistics Compendium is a web-based tool that pools disability statistics published by various federal agencies together in one place.

The Social Security and Supplemental Security Income disability programs are the largest of several Federal programs that provide assistance to people with disabilities.

Overview, inclusion, data, resources, etc.

The Disability History Museum hosts a Library of virtual artifacts, Education curricula, and Museum exhibits. These programs are designed to foster research and study about the historical experiences of people with disabilities and their communities.

Provides easy access to comprehensive disability-related information and resources including: benefits, civil rights, community life, education, health, housing, technology, etc.

Publications and videos that answer these questions and more: What is the ADA? Who is a person with a disability? Who must comply with the ADA? Where can you call to ask questions about the ADA?

Disability Discrimination

Disability is not only a public health issue, but also a human rights and development issue.

Here you will find national and state-based research on the needs, concerns and interests of midlife and older adults.

This article explores the efforts of Social Security planners to establish a disability program in the United States and the history of the program over the past 50 years. It describes how the program has evolved and the internal and external influences that have affected its development.

Advocacy group government safety net programs like Medicare, Social Security, Medicaid, and SSI to fight senior poverty.

NAPGCM is a non-profit professional development organization whose mission is to advance professional geriatric care management through education, collaboration, and leadership. A professional Geriatric Care Manager (GCM) is a health and human services specialist who helps families who are caring for older relatives. The GCM is trained and experienced in any of several fields related to care management, including nursing, gerontology, social work, or psychology.

New LifeStyles will be "The Source for Seniors", providing comprehensive, quality information on senior residences and care options. This information will be available, free to all that need it. We will lead the market by maximizing quality and advertising exposure for our partners.

Historical chronology, key dates/events, legislation history all related to social security and economic insurance.

Useful for profiles of countries, including background, geography, government, transportation, and area maps.

The European Centre is a UN-affiliated intergovernmental organization concerned with all aspects of social welfare policy and research.

Disability is not only a public health issue, but also a human rights and development issue.

Includes scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and newsletters in Gender Studies, Women’s Studies, LGBT, Queer studies, and related interests.

CWLA leads and engages its network of public and private agencies and partners to advance policies, best practices and collaborative strategies that result in better outcomes for children, youth and families that are vulnerable.

The country’s oldest national LGBTQ advocacy group.

The Welcoming Project was created to encourage businesses, health care/service providers, organizations, and churches to show their patrons that all are welcome.

An evidence-based toolkit to enhance effectiveness in providing LGBTQ+, specifically transgender, medical-surgical care through content, improving faculty instruction, enhancing nursing students' experiences, and improving healthcare outcomes.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, CMS, is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Information on medicaid/chip, medicare, and coordination of the two.

Official U S government site for Medicare information.

Resource center and information

The Medicare Rights Center is a national, nonprofit consumer service organization that works to ensure access to affordable health care for older adults and people with disabilities through counseling and advocacy, educational programs and public policy initiatives.

NAMI Athens is a private, family-based organization with two primary purposes: To advocate for and promote the recovery of people with mental illness and to provide information and support to their families.

NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental Illness, is the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization, topics covered: access to treatment, insanity defense, health reform, etc.

The mission of the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.

Library resource where you can search by your keywords and topic.

Online Resource Center with Regional Data & Research, Information by topic, Funding, Community Planning, Link to the Appalachia Magazine.

Information and programs for: medicaid, food assistance, work, child care, etc.

Community foundations are public charities with a common purpose—to improve the quality of life in their region. Through gifts of all sizes from people who care about that region, community foundations invest these charitable funds in perpetuity so the income can be used as grants to invest in the community forever.

Search: friends and neighbors the recession's unseen victims

NAMI Athens is a private, family-based organization with two primary purposes: To advocate for and promote the recovery of people with mental illness and to provide information and support to their families.

Our organization operates as a non-profit tourism association working with the 32 Appalachian Counties of Ohio to promote tourism. We believe tourism is the most sustainable form of economic development for this region.

Ohio leglislative and governmental information service, including bill tracking, the full text of bills, the administrative code and revised code, committee rosters, and legislator information.

Food assistance in Ohio

Official site for the Ohio Revised Code and the Ohio Administrative Code.

"The Rural Assistance Center (RAC) is a new national resource on rural health and human services information. Our information specialists are available to provide customized assistance, such as web and database searches on rural topics and funding resources, linking users to organizations, and furnishing relevant publications from the RAC resource library"

State government website

Information and programs for: medicaid, food assistance, work, child care, etc.

CLASP is a national, nonpartisan, anti-poverty nonprofit advancing policy solutions for low-income people. Working at the federal, state, and local levels, we develop practical yet visionary strategies for reducing poverty, promoting economic security, and addressing barriers faced by people of color.

The objectives of the Atlas are: to assemble statistics on food environment indicators to stimulate research on the determinants of food choices and diet quality, AND to provide a spatial overview of a community's ability to access healthy food and its success in doing so.

Resources from the CDC

Families who pay more than 30 percent of their income for housing are considered cost burdened and may have difficulty affording necessities such as food, clothing, transportation and medical care.

The National Poverty Center (NPC) was established in the fall of 2002 as a university-based, nonpartisan research center. We conduct and promote multidisciplinary, policy-relevant research on the causes and consequences of poverty and provide mentoring and training to young scholars.

Poverty data and U.S. Federal Poverty Guidelines Used to Determine Financial Eligibility for Certain Federal Programs

Food assistance in Ohio

An introduction to key issues as well as in-depth information on international poverty measurement, monitoring, analysis, and on poverty reduction strategies for researchers and practitioners

Site includes: programs, data, news on SNAP, research, a short history, and forms needed to apply.

Actual Social Security Act of 1935 law

The Federal Pell Grant Program provides need-based grants to low-income undergraduate and certain postbaccalaureate students to promote access to postsecondary education.

Preparation, types of aid, eligibility, etc.

The Cantigny 1st Division Oral History Project phase II features 22 videotaped oral histories of soldiers and guardsmen who served with the 1st Division of the U.S. Army between 1944 and 2009.

The House Committee on Veterans' Affairs reviews veterans' programs, examines current laws, and reports bills and amendments to strengthen existing laws concerning veterans and the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), such as health care, disability compensation, GI Bill education and job training, home loan guarantees, life insurance policies, and a nationwide system of veterans' cemeteries.

This collaborative program between HUD and VA combines HUD housing vouchers with VA supportive services to help Veterans who are homeless and their families find and sustain permanent housing. As of Sept. 30, 2015, HUD had allocated more than 78,000 vouchers to help house Veterans across the country.

Men and women (either New Jersey residents and/or Rutgers University alumni, faculty or staff) who served on the home front and overseas during World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, the Cold War and the nation's most recent conflicts

The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.

A Statement by the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights- August 2002

US Welfare System - Help for US Citizens
Federally funded and governed US welfare began in the 1930's during the Great Depression. The US government responded to the overwhelming number of families and individuals in need of aid by creating a welfare program that would give assistance to those who had little or no income.

Online collection of scanned images of rare printed and important manuscript texts on many aspects of gender, sexuality and culture in Great Britain.

Includes scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and newsletters in Gender Studies, Women’s Studies, LGBT, Queer studies, and related interests.

The Institute for Women’s Policy Research conducts rigorous research and disseminates its findings to address the needs of women, promote public dialog, and strengthen families, communities, and societies.

This site offers full text materials in various formats in regards to motherhood, youth, gender equality, HIV/AIDS, reproduction, humanitarian crises and more. Additional materials are found in the UNFPA's regional/country reports and serial publications.

Laws and related materials

Report updated in April 2017

Offers a brief summary from the Social Security Office of Policy of the workers' compensation and Social Security Disability Insurance programs.

The actual law