Skip to Main Content

Ohio University Libraries

Film & Media Resources

FILM AND MEDIA RESOURCES FOR ALL USERS

Streaming Video (OU)- Films, Documentaries, Educational | Public Library access

DocuSeek

The Docuseek2 Collection contains streaming video of documentaries by producers, distributors, and independent filmmakers from around the world. The documentaries focus on contemporary social issues in a variety of disciplines, including environmental sciences, political and social sciences, history, health, psychology, and more. The collection includes films from distributors such as Bullfrog Films, dGenerate Films, Fanlight Productions, Icarus Films, Kartemquin, and the National Film Board of Canada.

logo for Kanopy

Portal to streaming video content for educational, documentary, independent and art house films from hundreds of content providers; Kino, Bullfrog, Criterion, PBS, DER, plus more. Major subjects covered include: The arts, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos; many videos come with transcripts.

To facilitate teaching films can be projected in lecture halls, embedded in authenticated web pages, and watched off-campus (with login) with unlimited simultaneous viewers. Users can also create Playlists and make clips.

LINK TO ACADEMIC VIDEO ONLINE (AVON)

Video content selected to compliment broadest range of subject areas: art, business, counseling and therapy, education, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, literature, political science, religion, women’s studies.  Titles include documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and news reels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE COLLECTION

Sony Pictures Classics

BroadwayHD

Film Platform

Link to Films On Demand (FOD)

Films on Demand is a comprehensive collection of high-quality streaming videos licensed from a long established educational media distributor (Films for the Humanities and Sciences). Other content providers for Films on Demand include Davidson Films, California Newsreel, PBS, HBO and many more. Over 33,000 videos cover a wide range of topics organized into broad subjects. Individual segments subdivide each video into discrete shorter units.

HIGHLIGHTS OF THE COLLECTION 

HBO (160+ titles)

Art21 (120+ titles)

National Geographic

Oscilloscope Pictures

link to Swank Digital Campus

Digital Campus, provided by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® was created for professors and administrators to enhance curriculum by providing students with access to course-related films. This website provides an online catalog of the both feature films and films on literature, history, science, psychology/sociology, film study, fine arts, foreign language, humanities/culture, and communications

Link to ON THE BOARDS TV

OntheBoards.tv offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization. This first-of-its-kind site brings contemporary work to a wider public by filming top caliber performances with multiple high-definition cameras, editing the film collaboratively with the artists, and delivering them online as feature-length performance films.

Link to Drama Online

Online resource for plays, critical analysis and performance. The full text of many plays, featuring drama lists from Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare, Faber and Faber, Nick Hern, Playwrights Canada Press; audio broadcasts from LA Theatreworks; streaming performances from Royal Shakespeare Company and Globe on Screen. Drama Online offers a complete digital library of the most studied, performed and critically acclaimed plays from the last two and a half thousand years.

Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2015)

Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2016-2018)

RSC Live Collection

Stage on Screen 

BBC Drama Films & Documentaries

National Theatre Live

HAVE YOU TRIED HOOPLA / KANOPY AT ACPL? (Athens County Public Library)

Did you know with a Athens County Public Library card (free), you can access HOOPLA, a streaming service provided by and for public libraries.  Not only streaming, you get Audiobooks, Music, Ebooks, TV. For curated streaming, such as Criterion, California Newsreel, A24, Kino Lorber, and other highly valued distributors of motion picture content; ACPL provides access to the entire KANOPY catalog.  No time to get to the library to get a card? Sign up online.  NOTE: PATRONS MAY WATCH 10 FILMS PER VENDOR PER MONTH.  

NOTE:  HOOPLA AND KANOPY ONLY AVAILABLE VIA ACPL with a library card.   (Athens County Public Libraries) with Library Card.