Skip to main content

Ohio University

Diabetes Research

This guide is geared toward the osteopathic medical students, residents, clinical faculty, and others who are interested in researching diabetes and other endocrine diseases.

Medical Databases

PubMed logoPubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Although PubMed is a free website from the federal government, please use the link provided here.  It will link you directly to the journal article if it is available to OU.


The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a huge collection of scholarly journal in all disciplines. There are two sections of it that should be or particular interest to diabetes researchers:

  • Endocrinology
  • Nutritional and Metabolic Diseases

In addition to browsing those two areas, the entire journal collection can be searched for specific topics.


CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the major research database for nursing and allied health professions. It covers topics such as nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative and complementary medicine, and consumer health.

Food Science Source covers food industry-related sources, such as agriculture, food & beverage science, food packaging, food processing, food safety, food service, food shipping, culinary innovation, hospitality and tourism and product development.


In addition to these specialized sources for journal articles, you may wish to use one or both of the huge all-purpose databases, ArticlesPlus and Google Scholar, that are listed below:

Google Scholar

Logo for Google Scholar

 

 

Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search box to search for the contents of scholarly journals, books, theses, conference papers, etc. There are some characteristics you should know about, though, if you use Google Scholar:

  • It lacks most of the search limiting functions of other article databases. Even the "Articles" limiter in the left sidebar sometimes fails to limit the results to journal articles only.
  • Google does not make clear what sources it uses; in other words, there is no way to tell what journals it includes or excludes or what years are covered.
  • Most importantly, the links may lead you to websites which will ask that you pay for the articles, even though in many cases, we may own the particular journal already. Before paying for an article you find via Google Scholar, you should always do a Periodical Title Search for the journal in ALICE to see if we own the volume.
  • On-campus users should see this Find it icon in Google Scholar  link for articles that may be available for free to Ohio University faculty and students. After clicking on this link, you will be asked to login using your Ohio University login to access the full text of articles.
  • Off-campus users should set up their browsers as follows to get access to the full text of articles:
    • Click on the Settings icons for google scholaricon.
    • Configure the settings like this:Google scholar settings
    • If the settings are configured properly, off-campus users should also see the find it link in google scholarin their list of search results. After clicking on this link, you will be asked to login using your Ohio University login to access the full text of articles.

ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 200 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

ArticlesPlus does not include everything. We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.