ArticlesPlus or Not ArticlesPlus?
Which is better?
Which is better?Example:"Image and Media and Women"
- in Articles Plus yields 19,900 hits
- in Gender Studies database: 1,000 hits.
But you can't use all 1,000 hits, let alone 20,000.
What do you want?
- If you want every possible point of view, use Articles Plus.
- If you want pointed, especially feminist writing, use gender databases.
Women's Studies Databases: The Big Three
- Gender Studies DatabaseMost comprehensive coverage of core titles, both in number and depth. Some full text.A combination of Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases (1972 to the present).EBSCO.
- Gender WatchProquest: i.e., NOT included in Articles Plus results. Full text for many core WGS journals, but not as comprehensive in coverage as GSD.
- LGBT Life with Full Text"...covering major journals, magazines and regional newspapers on gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues." EBSCO
More Databases
These databases are broader in scope, but include women's issues and some unique items.
- Modernist Journals ProjectSmallish online full text repository of journals from the early 20th century. Easy to search; many feminist publications.
- PsycInfoArticles in the field of psychology.
- Vogue Archive
Every page, searchable, with images, since 1892. - LGBT Magazine ArchiveThis ProQuest database contains a small set of historic LGBT magazines and newspapers, many from the 1970s and '80s, some up through 2015. Useful for tracing attitudes over time and discovering under-represented voices.
