Find Ohio Newspapers
Many Ohio daily newspapers are available online for recent decades. A number of titles are listed below, but if the newspaper you need is not listed, use the title search in ALICE to see if we have the title you need, or browse for newspapers using one of the databases listed below.
If we do not have the title you need, you can also try expanding your search to OhioLINK. You may be able to have microfilm copies of newspapers sent to one of our libraries for use.
And, as always, if the title you need is not available through our collections or OhioLINK, you can use InterLibrary Loan services.
Selected Ohio Newspapers Available Online
Search ALICE for a newspaper title
Enter the name of the newspaper you want, and click search
If there is more than one item, choose you need. Online newspapers will have [electronic resource] inlcuded in their title
Click the link to go to the database. There may be more than one, with different dates. Choose the option that fits the date range you need.
Ohio Newspapers
Both Access World News and Access Newspaper Archive offer access to a large number of current and historic newspapers from Ohio. You can search across multiple Ohio newspapers at once, or select a single title.
If you don't see the newspaper you need covered here, take a look at the section on searching our collections for a specific newspaper title.
Appalachia News Sources
Access World News has current and historic issues of many Ohio newspapers. Exact dates vary by title. In most cases, there will just be text of the articles, though some titles do include images of the print version of the paper.
Titles in this database tend to be more recent, starting in the 1980s, 1990s, or 2000s and running to the present date.
Ohio Newspapers in Access Newspaper Archive
Access Newspaper Archive includes many local Ohio newspapers and is great for research at the local level or genealogical research. Titles in this database include images of the original printed newspaper.
Titles in this database tend to be more historical, covering the late 1800s and early 1900s, though there is some more recent content available.
Ohio Memory
There are more than 250 titles of historic Ohio newspapers digitized thanks to the Ohio History Connection's participation in the National Digital Newspaper Program. The newspapers are located in Chronicing America as well as on the Ohio Memory project website where you can see a map of counties with digitized newspapers.
This collection includes the The Athens County Gazette from 1897 to 1909.
Appalachia News Sources
This collection from NewsBank is specific to news sources from Appalachia ranging from Alabama to New York. This collection includes newspapers, local broadcast news transcripts, and regional newswires going back to the late 1980s.