The links below detail the Libraries’ access to a number of major American newspapers. The format varies by the date and the newspaper, with some papers available online as PDF page images or text-only files, while others are accessible via microfilm.
Search Tip: Article titles from ProQuest databases may be different than the print version. If searching for a specific article, it is suggested you expand your search to include author(s) or even a phrase from the first paragraph.
Other pages on this website explain how you can access newspapers from the state of Ohio or local papers for Athens and Ohio University.
If you don’t see the newspaper you need here, use a Periodical Title Search in the ALICE catalog to see if the title you need is part of the Libraries’ collections.
If the title you need is not available, ask a librarian for assistance. Newspapers may also be available via OhioLINK or Interlibrary Loan
- Chicago Tribune
- 1996-present: Full text available in the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
- 1962-2012: Available on microfilm on the first floor of Alden Library.
- 1849-1989: PDF full page images available in the Historical Newspapers database
- Los Angeles Times
- New York Times
- Search Tip: Article titles for the New York Times may be different than the print version. If searching for a specific article, it is suggested you expand your search to include author(s) or even a phrase from the first paragraph
- 1980-present: Full text available in the Proquest Historical Newspapers and Nexis Uni databases
- 1851-3 years ago: PDF full page images available in the Historical Newspapers database
- USA Today
- Wall Street Journal
- Search Tip: Article titles for the Wall Street Journal may be different than the print version. If searching for a specific article, it is suggested you expand your search to include author(s) or even a phrase from the first paragraph
- 1984-present: Full text available in the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database
- 1959-2014: Available on microfilm on the first floor of Alden Library
- Washington Post
- 1877-1995: PDF full page images available in the Historical Newspapers database
Search for Articles on a Topic
Newspaper indexes, like those listed below, let you search for newspaper articles on a particular topic. You can also use them to search for newspaper articles in many different newspapers at a time.
- America’s Newspapers: coverage varies by title, but articles can be found dating from 1978 to present.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic): date coverage varies by source, but some coverage dates to the 1970s.
- offers sophisticated search tools that make it a resource for content analysis of news coverage.
- Access Newspaper Archive: includes historical access to local newspapers from across the United States
- African American Newspapers: coverage dates range from 1823-1998, and content includes African American focused newspapers from across the United States.
- America’s Historical Newspapers: local and major newspapers. Coverage varies by title, but dates include 1690-2000.
-
US Newsstream - Recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format