University Libraries

The library subscribes to many business resources that provide information not availablevia typical WWW searches, and often NOT revealed on a corporate website.

With the resources below you can find annual reports (sometimes also on a company's website), corporate financial reports filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), locations of headquarters and plants, info on top executives (like their salaries), a company's competition, parent companies & subsidiaries, and industry news & trends.

Company & Industry Profiles / Annual Reports & SEC Filings

• Mergent Online
• Lexis Nexis (Company Profiles section)
• Hoover's
• U.S Securities & Exchange Commission -- SEC filing database

Business Articles

Business Source Complete contains articles from top business publications such as Harvard Business Review, Forbes, and BusinessWeek, as well as specialized business reports such as a SWOT Analysis (report on a company's Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities & Threats).

Company & Industry News

You can browse the business sections at newspaper websites, however, you might also want to search for all articles from the last 6 months about a particular company or subject. The best tool for doing this is a searchable article database. Here are the best ones for this purpose:

• Wall Street Journal
• America's Newspapers
• Lexis Nexis
• Factiva

In addition to population data, the U.S. Census Bureau provides information on U.S. business enterprises:  Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB)

Finding information about a non-profit organization or NGO (non governmental organization) can be more difficult, due to the fact that non-profits are not required to file annual reports with the government or make many of their records public.  However, below are some good places to start looking for that kind of information.

• Encyclopedia of Associations -- use this set of electronic directories to find listings for national, state/regional, or international non-profit organizations by name, subject or geographic region.

• GuideStar provides information about American nonprofit organizations, including operations and finances.  This site requires a free registration process to access some of the services. After creating an account, the user will have access to a nonprofit organization's revenues, expenses, balance sheets, and the IRS Form 990. Ohio University Libraries does not have access to the GuideStar Select or Premium services.

• Associations on the Net, from the Internet Public Library is a directory of associations with short descriptions and links to their websites. The directory is organized by broad subject. Includes trade associations, cultural and art organizations, political parties and advocacy groups, labor unions, academic societies, and research institutions.

Charity Navigator evaluates the finances, accountability and transparency of 6,000 of the largest