Flute
Classification Numbers for Flute
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M60-64 |
Flute or Alto Flute |
|
M60 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M61 |
Original Works: Collections (one composer) |
|
M62 |
Original Works: Separate |
|
M63 |
Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
|
M64 |
Arrangements: Separate Works |
|
M110 .P5 |
Piccolo |
|
M240-244 |
Flute or Alto Flute With Piano Accompaniment |
|
M240 |
Collections (More than one composer) |
|
M241 |
Original Works: Collections (One composer) |
|
M242 |
Original Works: Separate |
|
M243 |
Arrangements: Collections (One composer) |
|
M244 |
Arrangements: Separate works |
|
M270 .P45 |
Piccolo with Piano Accompaniment |
|
M288–M289 |
Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
|
M288 |
Collections |
|
M289 |
Separate works |
|
M290–M291 |
Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
|
M296–M297 |
Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M355–M359 |
Three wind instruments |
|
M360–M364 |
Three stringed and wind instruments |
|
M375–M379 |
Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1020 |
Flute or alto flute with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1020.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1021 |
Flute or alto flute with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1034.P5 |
Piccolo with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1034.5.P5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1035.P5 |
Piccolo with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1120 |
Flute or alto flute with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1120.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1121 |
Flute or alto flute with string orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1134.P5 |
Piccolo with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1134.5.P5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1135.P5 |
Piccolo with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Flute Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT340 |
General works |
|
MT342 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT343 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT344 |
Instructive editions |
|
MT345 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT346 |
Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
|
MT347 |
Two flutes |
|
MT348 |
Self-instructors |
|
MT356 |
Fife |
|
MT357 |
Piccolo |
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo flute music: |
sonatas (flute); suites (flute); variations (flute); etc.; flute music |
|
Flute and piano music: |
rondos (flute and piano); sonatas (flute and piano); suites (flute and piano); variations (flute and piano); etc., flute and piano music |
|
Duets: |
flute music (flutes (2); bassoon and flute music; clarinet and flute music; horn and flute music; oboe and flute music; etc. |
|
Trios: |
woodwind trios (clarinet, oboe, flute, or other combinations); wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations of instruments; trios (various combinations of instruments, e.g. trios (clarinet, flute, violin), trios (flute, percussion), trios (flute, guitar, viola)) |
|
Quartets: |
woodwind quartets [various combinations of instruments]; also suites (various combinations of instruments); variations (various combinations of instruments, etc) ;wind quartets (mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations of instruments) |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets |
|
|
Flute and Orchestra: |
concertos (flute); concertos (flute) -- solo with piano; flute with orchestra; concertos (flute with string orchestra); rondos (flute with orchestra); etc. |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Recordings, Writings
Bate, Philip. The Flute: A Study of its History, Development, and Construction. New York: Norton, 1969. ML935.B25 1969
De Lorenzo, Leonardo. My Complete Story of the Flute: The Instrument, the Performer, the Music. Lubbock: Texas Tech University Press, 1992.
Dorgeuille, Claude. The French Flute School, 1860-1950. London: Tony Bingham, 1986.
Howell, Thomas. The Avant-Garde Flute: A Handbook for Composers and Flutists. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1974. ML935.H795 A9
Krell, John C. Kincaidiana: A Flute Player's Notebook. Culver City, CA.: Trio Associates, 1973. MT340.K74
Meylan, Raymond. The Flute. Translated by Alfred Clayton. Portland, OR.: Amadeus Press, 1988.
Morris, Gareth. Flute Technique. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991. MT340.M73 1991
Phelan, James, and Mitchell D. Brody. The Complete Guide to the Flute: From Acoustics and Construction to Repair and Maintenance. Boston: Conservatory Publications, 1980. ML936.P45x
Quantz, Johann Joachim. On Playing the Flute, 2d ed. Translated with notes and an introduction by Edward R. Reilly. Boston: Northeastern University Press, 2001. MT342.Q313 2001
Toff, Nancy. The Development of the Modern Flute. New York: Taplinger, 1979. ML935.T63
_______. The Flute Book: A Complete Guide for Students and Performers. New York: Oxford University Press, 2012. ML935 .T65 2012
Classification Numbers for Books about the Flute
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .F58 |
Flute bibliographies |
|
ML935 |
General works |
|
ML936 |
Construction |
|
ML937 |
Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
Flute Talk* |
ML929 .F6 |
|
The Flutist Quarterly |
http://alice.library.ohio.edu:80/record=b4157501~S1 ML27. U5 N3676 |
|
*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library. |
Selected Internet Resource
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
The National Flute Association |
Oboe
Classification Numbers for Oboe Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M65–M69 |
Oboe alone: |
|
M65 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M66 |
Original works: Collections (one composer) |
|
M67 |
Original works: Separate |
|
M68 |
Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
|
M69 |
Arrangements: Separate works |
|
M110.E5 |
English horn |
|
M245–M247 |
Oboe with piano accompaniment: |
|
M245 |
Collections (different composers) |
|
M246 |
Separate works, original |
|
M247 |
Separate works: arrangements |
|
M270.E5 |
English horn |
|
M288–M289 |
Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
|
M288 |
Collections |
|
M289 |
Separate works |
|
M290–M291 |
Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
|
M296–M297 |
Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M355–M359 |
Three wind instruments |
|
M360–M364 |
Three stringed and wind instruments |
|
M375–M379 |
Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1022 |
Oboe with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1022.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1023 |
Oboe with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1034.E5 |
English horn |
|
M1122 |
Oboe with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1122.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1121 |
Oboe with string orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1134.E5 |
English horn |
Oboe Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT360 |
General works |
|
MT362 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT363 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT364 |
Instructive editions |
|
MT365 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT366 |
Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
|
MT367 |
Two oboes |
|
MT368 |
Self-instructors |
|
MT376 |
English horn |
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo Oboe music: |
sonatas (oboe); suites (oboe); variations (oboe); etc.; oboe music |
|
Oboe and piano music: |
rondos (oboe and piano); sonatas (oboe and piano); suites (oboe and piano); variations (oboe and piano); oboe and piano music, etc. |
|
Duets: |
oboe music (oboes (2)); bassoon and oboe music; clarinet and oboe music; horn and oboe music; etc. |
|
Trios: |
woodwind trios (clarinet, flute, oboe); (or other combinations); wind trio (mixed brass and woodwind; various combinations); trios (various combinations of instruments) e.g., trios (clarinet, oboe, violin, trios (oboe, percussion), trios (oboe, guitar, viola) |
|
Quartets: |
woodwind quartets (various combinations of instruments); suites (various combinations of instruments); variations (various combinations of instruments, etc.); wind quartets (mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations of instruments) |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets |
|
|
Oboe and Orchestra: |
concertos (oboe); concertos (oboe) -- solo with piano; oboe with orchestra; rondos (oboe with orchestra); etc. |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Writings
Bate, Philip. The Oboe, an Outline of its History, Development, and Construction. 3rd ed. New York: W. W. Norton, 1975. ML940 .B37 1975x
Gifford, Virginia Snodgrass. Music for Oboe, Oboe d'amore, and English Horn: A Bibliography of Materials at the Library of Congress. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983. Ref. ML128 .O2 G5 1983
Goossens, Leon, and Edwin Roxburgh. Oboe. 2nd ed.London: MacDonald Tutura Publishers, 1980.
Haynes, Bruce. The Eloquent Oboe: A History of the Hautboy 1640-1760. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. ML940 .H39 2001
_______. Music for Oboe, 1650-1800: A Bibliography. 2nd ed. Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf Press, 1992. Ref. ML128. O2 H55 1992
Joppig, Gunther. The Oboe and the Bassoon. Trans. Alfred Clayton. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1988. ML940 .J6613 1988
Wilkins, Wayne. The Index of Oboe Music including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas. Magnolia, AR: The Music Register, 1976. Ref. ML128 .O2 W5x
Classification Numbers for Books about Oboe
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .F58 |
Oboe bibliographies |
|
ML940 |
General works |
|
ML941 |
Construction |
|
ML942 |
Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
The Double Reed* |
ML1 .D69x |
|
Journal of the International Double Reed Society |
ML1 .I718 |
|
*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library. |
Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
International Double Reed Society |
|
|
Oboe and Reed Information |
|
Clarinet
Classification Numbers for Clarinet Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M70–M74 |
Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet alone: |
|
M70 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M71 |
Original works: Collections (one composer) |
|
M72 |
Original works: Separate |
|
M73 |
Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
|
M74 |
Arrangements: Separate works |
|
M248–M252 |
Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with piano accompaniment: |
|
M248 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M249 |
Original works: Collections (one composer) |
|
M250 |
Original works: Separate |
|
M251 |
Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
|
M252 |
Arrangements: Separate works |
|
M288–M289 |
Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
|
M288 |
Collections |
|
M289 |
Separate works |
|
M290–M291 |
Duets—one stringed and one wind Instrument |
|
M296–M297 |
Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M355–M359 |
Three wind instruments |
|
M360–M364 |
Three stringed and wind instruments |
|
M375–M379 |
Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1024 |
Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1024.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1025 |
Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1124 |
Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1124.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1125 |
Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Clarinet Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT380 |
General works |
|
MT382 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT383 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT384 |
Instructive editions |
|
MT385 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT386 |
Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
|
MT387 |
Two clarinets |
|
MT388 |
Self-instructors |
Bass clarinet studies and methods:
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT392 |
General works |
|
MT392.2 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT392.3 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT392.4 |
Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
|
MT392.5 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT392.6 |
Instructive editions |
|
MT392.7 |
Two bass clarinets |
|
MT392.8 |
Self-instructors |
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo clarinet music: |
sonatas (clarinet); suites (clarinet); variations (clarinet); etc.; clarinet music |
|
Clarinet and piano music: |
rondos (clarinet and piano); sonatas (clarinet and piano); suites (clarinet and piano); variations (clarinet and piano); etc.; clarinet and piano music |
|
Duets |
clarinet music (clarinets (2)); mixed duos |
|
Trios: |
woodwind trios (clarinet, oboe, flute); (or other combinations); wind trios (mixed brass and woodwind instruments, various combinations) e.g., wind trios (clarinet, flute, trumpet), wind trios (clarinet, trombone, trumpet); trios (various combinations of instruments) e.g., trios (viola, clarinet (2)), trios (clarinet, trombone, percussion), trios (clarinet, harp, celesta) |
|
Quartets: |
woodwind quartets [various combinations]; also suites (various combinations of instruments); variations (various combinations of instruments, etc); wind quartets (mixed brass and woodwind instruments, various combinations); also suites, variations, etc: |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
|
|
Clarinet and Orchestra: |
concertos (clarinet); concertos (clarinet) -- solo with piano; clarinet with orchestra; rondos (clarinet with orchestra), etc. |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Recordings, Writings
Rehfeldt, Phillip. New Directions for Clarinet, rev. ed. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1994. ML945 .R43 1994
Rendall, F. Geoffrey. The Clarinet: Some Notes Upon Its History and Construction, 3d ed., rev. New York: W. W. Norton, 1971. ML946.R4 1971
Stein, Keith. The Art of Clarinet Playing. Evanston, IL: Summy-Birchard, 1958. MT380 .S84x
Thurston, Frederick. Clarinet Technique, 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1977. MT380.T5 1964
Weston, Pamela. Clarinet Virtuosi of Today. Baldock, England: Egon, 1989. ML399.W482 1989x
________. Clarinet Virtuosi of the Past. London: Hale, 1971 ML399 .W48
________. More Clarinet Virtuosi of the Past. London: by the author, 1977. ML399.W49
Classification Numbers for Books about the Clarinet
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .C58 |
Clarinet bibliographies |
|
ML945 |
General works |
|
ML946 |
Construction |
|
ML948 |
Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
The Clarinet (1973--) |
ML1 .C787 |
|
Clarinet and Saxophone (1986-1988) |
ML5 .C57 |
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
International Clarinet Association |
Bassoon
Classification Numbers for Bassoon Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M75-79 |
Bassoon or contrabassoon alone: |
|
M75 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M76 |
Original works: Collections (one composer) |
|
M77 |
Original works: Separate |
|
M79 |
Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
|
M79 |
Arrangements: Separate works |
|
M253-254 |
Bassoon or contrabassoon with piano accompaniment: |
|
M253 |
Collections |
|
M254 |
Separate works |
|
M288-289 |
Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
|
M288 |
Collections |
|
M289 |
Separate works |
|
M290-291 |
Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
|
M296-297 |
Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
|
M315-319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320-324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335-339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M355-359 |
Three wind instruments |
|
M360-364 |
Three stringed and wind instruments |
|
M375-379 |
Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and Similar Pieces
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1026 |
Bassoon with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1026.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1027 |
Bassoon with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1026 |
Bassoon with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1026.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1027 |
Bassoon with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT | |
|---|---|---|
|
MT400 |
General works |
|
|
MT402 |
Systems and methods |
|
|
MT403 |
Teaching pieces |
|
|
MT404 |
Instructive editions |
|
|
MT405 |
Studies and exercises |
|
|
MT406 |
Orchestral excerpts and studies |
|
|
MT407 |
Two bassoons |
|
|
MT408 |
Self-instructors |
|
|
MT412 |
Contrabassoon |
|
|
MT415 |
Sarrusophone |
|
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo bassoon music: |
sonatas (bassoon); suites (bassoon); variations (bassoon); etc.; bassoon music |
|
Bassoon and piano music: |
rondos (bassoon and piano); sonatas (bassoon and piano); suites (bassoon and piano); variations (bassoon and piano); etc.; bassoon and piano music |
|
Duets: |
bassoon music (bassoons (2)); clarinet and bassoon music; flute and bassoon music; horn and bassoon music; oboe and bassoon music; etc. |
|
Trios: |
woodwind trios (bassoon, oboe, flute) (or other combinations); wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind instruments, various combinations], e.g., wind trios (bassoon, clarinet, trumpet); trios [various combinations of instruments], e.g., trios, viola, bassoons (2)), trios (bassoon, trumpet, percussion) |
|
Quartets: |
woodwind quartets [various combinations of instruments]; also suites [various combinations of instruments]; variations [various combinations of instruments]; etc. wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind instruments, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc.; also suites, variations, etc. |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets |
|
|
Bassoon and Orhcestra: |
concertos (bassoon); concertos (bassoon) -- solo with piano; bassoon with orchestra; concertos (bassoon with string orchestra); rondos (bassoon with orchestra), etc. |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Writings
Beebe, Jon P. Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, 1990. Ref. ML128.B26 B43 1990
Fletcher, Kristine Klopfenstein. The Paris Conservatoire and the Contest Solos for Bassoon. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1988. Ref. ML128.B26 F6 1988
Jansen, Will. The Bassoon: its History, Construction, Makers, Players and Music. 5 vols. Buren: Frits Knuf, 1978. ML950.J36 1978
Koenigsbeck, Bodo. Bassoon Bibliography. Monteux, France: Musica Rara, 1994. On order
Wilkins, Wayne. The Index of Bassoon Music Including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas. Magnolia, AR: The Music Register, 1976. Ref. ML128.B2 W5x
Classification Numbers for Books about the Bassoon
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128.B26 |
Bassoon bibliographies |
|
ML950 |
General works |
|
ML951 |
Construction |
|
ML953 |
Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
The Double Reed* |
ML1 .D69x |
|
Journal of the International Double Reed Society |
ML1 .I718 |
*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library.
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
International Double Reed Society |
|
|
British Double Reed Society |
|
|
Bassoon.org |
Saxophone
Classification Numbers for Saxophone Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M105–M109 |
Saxophone alone: |
|
M105 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M106 |
Original works: Collections (one composer) |
|
M107 |
Original works: Separate works |
|
M108 |
Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
|
M109 |
Arrangements: Separate works |
|
M268–M269 |
Saxophone with piano accompaniment: |
|
M268 |
Collections |
|
M269 |
Separate works |
|
M288–M289 |
Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
|
M288 |
Collections |
|
M289 |
Separate works |
|
M290–M291 |
Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
|
M296–M297 |
Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M355–M359 |
Three wind instruments |
|
M360–M364 |
Three stringed and wind instruments |
|
M375–M379 |
Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1034.S4 |
Saxophone with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1034.5 .S4 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1035.S4 |
Saxophone with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1134.S4 |
Saxophone with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1134.5 .S4 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1135.S4 |
Saxophone with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Saxophone Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT500 |
General works |
|
MT502 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT503 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT504 |
Instructive editions |
|
MT505 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT506 |
Orchestral studies |
|
MT507 |
Two saxophones |
|
MT508 |
Self-instructors |
|
MT510 |
Other instruments of the saxophone family |
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo saxophone music: |
sonatas (saxophone); suites (saxophone); variations (saxophone); etc.; saxophone music |
|
Music for saxophone and piano: |
rondos (saxophone and piano); sonatas (saxophone and piano); suites (saxophone and piano); variations (saxophone and piano); etc.; saxophone and piano music |
|
Duets: |
saxophone music (saxophone (2)); bassoon and saxophone music; flute and saxophone music; horn and saxophone music; oboe and saxophone music; etc. |
|
Trios: |
woodwind trios (saxophone, oboe, flute); (or other combinations); wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; e.g., wind trios (saxophone, trombone, trumpet) |
|
Quartets: |
woodwind quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of instruments]; variations [various combinations of instruments]; etc. wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
|
|
Saxophone and Orchestra: |
concertos (saxophone) concertos (saxophone) -- solo with piano; saxophone with orchestra; rondos (saxophone with orchestra) |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Recordings, Writings
America's Millennium Tribute to Adolphe Sax. Volume 1-7. Arizona University Recordings, 2001. Multiple Volumes. CD 3142 v.1-7 CD
Hemke, Fred. “The Early History of the Saxophone.” D.M.A. thesis, University of Wisconsin, 1975.
Horwood, Wally. Adolphe Sax, 1814-1894: His Life and Legacy, rev. ed. Baldock, Hertfordshire: Egon, 1983. ML424 .S27 H67 1983
Kool, Jaap. Das Saxophon: The Saxophone. Translated by Lawrence Gwozdz. Baldock, Hertfordshire: Egon, 1987. ML975 .K766 1987
Ortega, Diego. Sax Revolutions: Adolphe Sax's Life. Cadiz, Spain: enFin Producciones, 2014
Teal, Larry. The Art of Saxophone Playing. Evanston, IL: Summy-Birchard, 1963. MT505 .T42xRonkin, Bruce. Londeix Guide to the Saxophone Repertoire, 1844-2012. Glenmore, PA: Northeastern Music Publications, 2012. ML128.S247 R66 2012x
Umble, James. Jean-Marie Londiex: Master of the Modern Saxophone. Cherry Hill, NJ: Roncorp Publications, 2000. ML419.L65 U52 2000x
Classification Numbers for Books about the Saxophone
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .S247 |
Saxophone bibliographies |
|
ML975 |
General works |
|
ML976 |
Construction |
|
ML978 |
Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
The Saxophone Symposium |
ML1 .S272x |
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
Saxophone.org |
|
|
Classic Sax |
|
|
Saxopidia |
Recorder
Classification Numbers for Recorder Music
Note: Some recorder music may be disguised as flute music, so check our Flute Guide, too.
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M110.R4 |
Recorder alone |
|
M270.R4 |
Recorder with piano accompaniment: collections |
|
M271.R4 |
Recorder with piano accompaniment: separate works |
|
M288–M289 |
Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
|
M288 |
Collections |
|
M289 |
Separate works |
|
M290–M291 |
Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
|
M296–M297 |
Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M355–M359 |
Three wind instruments |
|
M360–M364 |
Three stringed and wind instruments |
|
M375–M379 |
Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1034.R4 |
Recorder with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1035.R4 |
Recorder with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1134.R4 |
Recorder with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1135.R4 |
Recorder with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Recorder Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT350 |
General works |
|
MT351 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT352 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT352.5 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT352.6 |
Instructive editions |
|
MT352.7 |
Two recorders |
|
MT353 |
Self-instructors |
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo recorder music: |
sonatas (recorder); suites (recorder); etc.; recorder music |
|
Recorder and piano music: |
sonatas (recorder and continuo); sonatas (recorder and piano); suites (recorder and piano); variations (recorder and piano); recorder and continuo music, etc. |
|
Duets: |
recorder music (recorders (2)); flute and recorder music; recorder and xylophone music, etc. |
|
Trios: |
woodwind trios (bassoon, oboe, recorder); (or other combinations) wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; trios [various combinations of instruments]; e.g., trios (recorder, violin, violoncello); trios (harpsichord, recorder, guitar) |
|
Quartets: |
woodwind quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of instruments]; variations [various combinations of instruments]; etc; wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets |
|
|
Recorder and Orchestra: |
concertos (recorder); concertos (recorder) -- solo with piano; recorder with orchestra; concertos (recorder with string orchestra |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Writings
The Cambridge Companion to the Recorder. Ed. John Mansfield Thomson; asst. ed. Anthony Rowland-Jones. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1995. ML990 .R4 C26 1995
Flûte à bec. 3 vols. Ed. Susi Möhlmeier and Frédérique Thouvenot. Courlay: Editions J.M. Fuzeau, 2001. A collection of facsimiles of most of the historical treatises.
Griscom, Richard, and David Lasocki. The Recorder: A Research and Information Guide. New York: Routledge, 2012. Ref. ML128 .R31 G75 2012
Hunt, Edgar. The Recorder and its Music. London: H. Jenkins, 1962. ML935 .H85 1962.
O’Kelly, Eve. The Recorder Today. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1990.
Rowland-Jones, Anthony. Playing Recorder Sonatas: Interpretation and Technique. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Wollitz, Kenneth. The Recorder Book. New York: Knopf, 1982. MT350 .W64 1982
Classification Numbers for Books about the Recorder
Note: Some recorder books may be disguised as flute books, so check our Flute Guide, too.
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .F58 |
Recorder bibliographies |
|
ML990 .R4 |
General books |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
The American Recorder |
ML27 .U5 A83 |
|
The Recorder Magazine |
Selected Internet Resource
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
Recorder Home Page |