Brass
Classification Numbers
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
Trios:
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M355 |
Collections (both original and arranged works) |
|
M356 |
Original works: Collections |
|
M357 |
Original works: Separate -- General (woodwinds and brass) |
|
M357.4 |
Original works: Separate -- Brass only |
|
M358 |
Arrangements: Collections |
|
M359 |
Arrangements: Separate works |
|
M375–M379 |
Wind and plucked instruments |
|
M380–M384 |
Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments |
Quartets:
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M400–M409 |
Organ or reed organ and three other instruments |
|
M415–M419 |
Piano and three wind instruments |
|
M435–M439 |
Piano and three wind and plucked instruments |
|
M440–M444 |
Piano and three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments |
|
M455 |
Wind instruments only: Collections (both original and arranged works) |
|
M456 |
Original works: Collections |
|
M457 |
Original works: Separate -- General (woodwinds and brass) |
|
M457.4 |
Original works: Separate -- Brass only |
|
M458 |
Arrangements: Collections |
|
M459 |
Arrangements: Separate works |
|
M460–M464 |
Stringed and wind instruments |
|
M480–M484 |
Wind and plucked instruments |
|
M480–M484 |
Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments |
Quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Trios: |
trios [instruments], e.g., trios (piano, trumpet, trombone); trios (piano, horns (2)); etc.; brass trios [instruments], e.g. brass trios (euphoniums (3)), brass trios (euphoniums (2), tuba), etc.; suites (horn, trombone, trumpet); etc.; wind trios (bassoon, horns (2)); etc. |
|
Quartets: |
brass quartets [instruments], e.g., brass quartets (horn, trombone, trumpets (2)); etc.; wind quartets (clarinets (2), horns (2); etc. |
|
Quintets: |
brass quintets [instruments], e.g., brass quintets (horn, trombone, trumpets (2), tuba); etc. |
|
Similar patterns for sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
Selected Bibliography
Anderson, Paul and Lisa Ormston Bontrager, comps. Brass Music Guide: Ensemble Music in Print. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1987. Ref. ML128 .W5 A57 1987
Brass Anthology: A Collection of Brass Articles Published in The Instrumentalist Magazine from 1946 to 1999. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist Publishing Company, 1999. MT418 .B87 1999
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
Brass Excerpts |
|
|
Historic Brass Society |
Trumpet
Classification Numbers for Trumpet Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M85–M89 |
Trumpet or cornet alone: |
|
M85 |
Collections (different composers) |
|
M86 |
Original works: collections (one composer) |
|
M87 |
Original works: separate |
|
M88 |
Arrangements: collections (one composer) |
|
M89 |
Arrangements: separate works |
|
M260–M261 |
Trumpet or cornet with piano accompaniment: |
|
M260 |
Collections |
|
M261 |
Separate works |
|
M288–M289 |
Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
|
M288 |
Collections |
|
M289 |
Separate works |
|
M290–M291 |
Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
|
M296–M297 |
Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M355–M359 |
Three wind instruments |
|
M360–M364 |
Three stringed and wind instruments |
|
M375–M379 |
Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1030 |
Trumpet or cornet with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1030.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1031 |
Trumpet or cornet with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1130 |
Trumpet or cornet with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1130.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1131 |
Trumpet or cornet with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT440 |
General works |
|
MT442 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT443 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT444 |
Instructive editions |
|
MT445 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT446 |
Orchestral studies |
|
MT447 |
Two trumpets |
|
MT448 |
Self-instructors |
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo trumpet: |
sonatas (trumpet); suites (trumpet); variations (trumpet); etc.; trumpet music |
|
Trumpet and piano: |
rondos (trumpet and piano); sonatas (trumpet and piano); suites (trumpet and piano); variations (trumpet and piano); etc.; trumpet and piano music |
|
Duets: |
trumpet music (trumpets (2)); horn and trumpet music; trombone and trumpet music; tuba and trumpet music; flute and trumpet music; etc. |
|
Trios: |
brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpetor other combinations); wind trios; wind trios (flute, horns (2)), [mixed brass and woodwind; various combinations] |
|
Quartets: |
brass quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of brass instruments]; variations [various combinations of brass instruments]; etc. wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets |
|
|
Trumpet and Orchestra: |
concertos (trumpet); concertos (trumpet) -- solo with piano; trumpet with orchestra; concertos (trumpet with string orchestra); rondos (trumpet with orchestra), etc. |
Classification Numbers for Books about the Trumpet
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .T78 |
Trumpet bibliographies |
|
ML960 |
General works |
|
ML961 |
Construction |
|
ML963 |
Music and playing |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Writings
Bate, Philip. The Trumpet and Trombone: An Outline of Their History, Development, and Construction. 2nd ed. New York: W. W. Norton, 1978. ML960 .B38 1978
Carnovale, Norbert A., and Paul F. Doersken. Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Orchestra. 2nd rev. ed. United States: Brass Press, 1994. Ref. ML128 .T78 C34 1994
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
Brass Bulletin (1971–) |
ML5.B823 |
|
Historic Brass Society Journal (1989–) |
ML1.H457 |
|
Historic Brass Society Newsletter (1989–) |
ML1.H458 |
|
International Trumpet Guild Journal (1976–) |
ML1 .I87 |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
Brass Bulletin |
ML5 .B6864 |
|
International Trumpet Guild Journal* |
ML1 .I87 |
|
*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library. |
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
International Trumpet Guild |
|
|
Trumpet Herald |
|
|
Trumpet Player Online |
Horn
Classification Numbers for Horn Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M80–M84 |
Horn alone: |
|
M80 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M81 |
Original works: Collections (one composer) |
|
M82 |
Original works: Separate |
|
M83 |
Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
|
M84 |
Arrangements: separate works |
|
M255–M259 |
Horn with piano accompaniment: |
|
M255 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M256 |
Original works: Collections (one composer) |
|
M257 |
Original works: Separate |
|
M258 |
Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
|
M259 |
Arrangements: Separate works |
|
M288–M289 |
Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
|
M288 |
Collections |
|
M289 |
Separate works |
|
M290–M291 |
Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
|
M296–M297 |
Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M355–M359 |
Three wind instruments |
|
M360–M364 |
Three stringed and wind instruments |
|
M375–M379 |
Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1028 |
Horn with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1028.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1029 |
Horn with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1128 |
Horn with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1128.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1129 |
Horn with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Horn Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT420 |
General works |
|
MT422 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT423 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT424 |
Instructive editions |
|
MT425 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT426 |
Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
|
MT427 |
Two horns |
|
MT428 |
Self-instructors |
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo horn music: |
sonatas (horn); suites (horn); variations (horn); etc.; horn music |
|
Horn and piano music: |
rondos (horn and piano); sonatas (horn and piano); suites (horn and piano); variations (horn and piano); etc.; horn and piano music |
|
Duets: |
horn music (horns (2)); horn and trumpet music; horn and trombone music; horn and tuba music; flute and horn music; etc. |
|
Trios: |
brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpet); or other combinations); wind trios (flute, horns (2)); wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] |
|
Quartets: |
brass quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of brass instruments]; variations [various combinations of brass instruments]; etc; wind quartets; [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites; variations; etc. |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets |
|
|
Horn and Orchestra: |
concertos (horn); concertos (horn) -- solo with piano; horn with orchestra; rondos (horn with orchestra), etc. |
Classification Numbers for Books about the Horn
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .T78 |
Horn bibliographies |
|
ML955 |
General works |
|
ML956 |
Construction |
|
ML957 |
Music and playing |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Recordings, Writings
Anderson, Paul G. Brass Music Guide: Ensemble Music in Print. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1987. On order
Fasman, Mark J. Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1990. Ref. ML128 .W5 F3 1990
Gregory, Robin. The Horn: A Comprehensive Guide to the Modern Instrument & its Music. 2nd ed. London: Faber & Faber, 1969. ML955 .G7 1969
Hernon, Michael. French Horn Discography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. Ref. ML156.4 .H7 H5 1986
Horne, Aaron. Brass Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. Ref. ML128 .W5 H62 1996
Janetzky, Kurt, and Bernhard Bruchle. The Horn. Trans. James Chater. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1988. ML955 .J313 1988
Meckna, Michael. Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists.Westport, CT: Greenwood Press 1994.
Reynolds, Verne. The Horn Handbook. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1997. MT420 .R49 1997
Tuckwell, Barry. Playing the Horn: A Practical Guide. London: Oxford University Press, 1978. MT422 .T8
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
Brass Bulletin |
ML5 .B6864 |
|
The Horn Call* |
ML1 .H67x |
|
The Horn Call Annual |
ML1 .H672x |
|
NACWPI Journal* |
ML27 .U5 N17 |
|
*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library. |
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
IHS Online |
|
|
Historic Brass Society |
|
|
Hans Pizka |
|
|
Glen’s Horn World |
|
|
HornSpot |
|
|
McCoy’s Horn Library |
Trombone
Classification Numbers for Trombone Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M90–M94 |
Trombone or bass trombone alone: |
|
M90 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M91 |
Original works: collections (one composer) |
|
M92 |
Original works: separate |
|
M93 |
Arrangements: collections (one composer |
|
M94 |
Arrangements: separate works |
|
M262-M263 |
Trombone or bass trombone with piano: |
|
M262 |
Collections |
|
M263 |
Separate works |
|
M288–M289 |
Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
|
M288 |
Collections |
|
M289 |
Separate works |
|
M290–M291 |
Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
|
M296–M297 |
Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M355–M359 |
Three wind instruments |
|
M360–M364 |
Three stringed and wind instruments |
|
M375–M379 |
Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1032 |
Trombone with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1032.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1033 |
Trombone with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1132 |
Trombone with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1132.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1133 |
Trombone with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT460 |
General works |
|
MT462 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT463 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT464 |
Instructive editions |
|
MT465 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT466 |
Orchestral studies |
|
MT467 |
Two trombones |
|
MT468 |
Self-instructors |
|
MT472 |
Bass trombone or contrabass trombone |
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo trombone: |
sonatas (trombone); suites (trombone); variations (trombone); etc., trombone music |
|
Trombone and piano: |
rondos (trombone and piano); sonatas (trombone and piano); suites (trombone and piano); variations (trombone and piano); etc.; trombone and piano music |
|
Duets: |
trombone music (trombones (2)); horn and trombone music; trumpet and trombone music; tuba and trombone music; etc. |
|
Trios: |
brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpet); (or other combinations); wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] e.g., wind trios (flute, horns (2)); trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (trombone, percussion, violoncello), trios (piano, trombone, trumpet) |
|
Quartets: |
brass quartets [various combinations]; also suites[various combinations of brass instruments]; variations [various combinations of brass instruments]; etc.; wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind; various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets |
|
|
Trombone and Orchestra: |
concertos (trombone); concertos (trombone) -- solo with piano; trombone with orchestra; rondos (trombone with orchestra), etc. |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Recordings, Writings
Arling, Harry J. Trombone Chamber Music: An Annotated Bibliography. Nashville, TN: Brass Press, 1978. Ref. ML128 .T76 A7
Bate, Philip. The Trumpet and Trombone: An Outline of Their History, Development, and Construction. 2nd ed. New York: W. W. Norton, 1978. ML960 .B38 1978
Dietrich, Kurt. Jazz Bones: The World of Jazz Trombone. Rottenburg N., Germany: Advanced Music, 2005. ML3508 .D54 2005x
Guion, David M.A History of the Trombone. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2010. ML965 .G83 2010
Guion, David M. The Trombone: Its History and Music, 1697-1811. New York: Gordon and Breach, 1988. ML965 .G84 1988
Herbert, Trevor. The Trombone. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2006. ML965 .H47 2006
Lane, G. B. The Trombone: An Annotated Bibliography. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1999. Ref. ML128 .T76 L36 1999
Classification Numbers for Books about the Trombone
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .T76 |
Trombone bibliographies |
|
ML965 |
General works |
|
ML966 |
Construction |
|
ML968 |
Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
Brass Bulletin* |
ML5 .B6864 |
|
International Trombone Association Journal* |
ML1 .I86 |
|
Online Trombone Journal |
|
|
Brittish Trombone Society |
|
| Trombone Forum | New Website TBD |
| *Print Copies are available in Music and Dance Library |
|
|
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
Will Kimball Trombone |
|
|
Brass Excerpts.com (Trombone Page) |
|
|
International Trombone Association |
Tuba
Classification Numbers for Tuba Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M95--M99 |
Tuba alone: |
|
M95 |
Collections (more than one composer) |
|
M96 |
Original works: Collections (one composer) |
|
M97 |
Original works: Separate |
|
M98 |
Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
|
M99 |
Arrangements: Separate works |
|
M264--M265 |
Tuba with piano accompaniment |
|
M264 |
Collections |
|
M265 |
Separate works |
|
M288--M289 |
Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
|
M288 |
Collections |
|
M289 |
Separate works |
|
M290--M291 |
Duets--one stringed and one wind instrument |
|
M296--M297 |
Duets--one wind and one plucked instrument |
|
M315--M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320--M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M335--M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M355--M359 |
Three wind instruments |
|
M360--M364 |
Three stringed and wind instruments |
|
M375--M379 |
Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1034.T8 |
Tuba with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1034.5.T8 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1035.T8 |
Tuba with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1134.T8 |
Tuba with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1134.5.T8 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1135.T8 |
Tuba with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT480 |
General works |
|
MT482 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT483 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT484 |
Instructive editions |
|
MT485 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT486 |
Orchestral studies |
|
MT487 |
Two tubas |
|
MT488 |
Self-instructors |
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo tuba: |
sonatas (tuba); suites (tuba); variations (tuba); etc.; tuba music |
|
Tuba and piano: |
rondos (tuba and piano); sonatas (tuba and piano); suites (tuba and piano); variations (tuba and piano); etc.; tuba and piano music |
|
Duets: |
tuba music (tubas (2)); horn and tuba music; trumpet and tuba music; trombone and tuba music; etc. |
|
Trios: |
brass trios [combinations of brass instruments] e.g., brass trios (horn, trombone, tuba), brass trios (tubas (3)); trios [various combinations of instruments], e.g. trios (piano, horn, tuba), trios (piano, tuba, violin) |
|
Quartets |
brass quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of brass instruments]; variations [various combinations of brass instruments]; etc.; wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets |
|
|
Tuba and Orchestra: |
concertos (tuba); concertos (tuba) -- solos with piano; tuba with orchestra; rondos (tuba with orchestra), etc. |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Writings
Bell, William, and R. Winston Morris. Encyclopedia of Literature for the Tuba. New York: Charles Colin, 1967. Ref. ML128.T8 B3x
Morris, R. Winston, and Daniel Perantoni, eds. Guide to the Tuba Repertoire: The New Tuba Source Book. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2006. ML128.T8 T8 2006
Morris, R. Winston. Tuba Music Guide. Evanston, IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1973. Ref. ML128.T8 M7
Morris, R. Winston, and Edward R. Goldstein, eds. The Tuba Source Book. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1996. Ref. ML128.T8 T8 1996
Classification Numbers for Books about the Tuba
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .T8 |
Tuba bibliographies |
|
ML970 |
General works |
|
ML971 |
Construction |
|
ML973 |
Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
Brass Bulletin |
ML5 .B6864 |
|
ITEA Journal* |
ML1 .T82 |
|
*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library. |
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
International Tuba Euphonium Association |
|
|
TubeNet |