Skip to Main Content

Instrument and Voice Guides

Strings

Violin

Classification Numbers for Violin Music

CALL NUMBERS SUBJECT

M40--M44

Violin alone:

     M40

     Collections (more than one composer)

     M41

     Original works: Collections (one composer)

     M42

     Original works: Separate

     M43

     Arrangements: Collections (one composer)

     M44

     Arrangements: Separate works

M217--M223

Violin with piano accompaniment

     M217

     Collections (more than one composer)

     M218

     Original works: Collections (one composer)

     M219 

     Sonatas

     M220

     Suites and variations

     M221

     Pieces

     M222

     Arrangements: Collections (one composer)

     M223

     Arrangements: Separate works

M286-M287

Duets for two stringed instruments (of all kinds):

     M286

     Collections

     M287

     Separate works

M290--M291

Duets--one stringed and one wind instrument

M294--M295

Duets--one stringed and one plucked instrument

M310--M314

Piano and two stringed instruments

M320--M324

Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument

M330--M334

Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument

M349--M353

Three stringed instruments

M360--M364

Three stringed and wind instruments

M370--M374

Three stringed and plucked instruments

M450

Quartets--Collections (more than one composer and medium)

M451

Quartets--Collections (more than one composer)

M452

Quartets--two violins, viola, violoncello

M452.2

Quartets--four violins

M452.4

Quartets--other combinations of stringed instruments

Quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, respectively).

Concertos and similar pieces:

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

M1012

Violin with orchestra, full scores

M1012.5

Cadenzas for such works

M1013

Violin with orchestra, piano reductions

M1112

Violin with string orchestra, full scores

M1112.5

Cadenzas for such works

M1113

Violin with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and Methods

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

MT260

 General works

MT261

 Physiology of the hand

MT262

 Systems and methods

MT265

 Studies and exercises: General works

MT266

 Orchestral studies

MT267

 Bowing

MT268

 Positions

MT269

 Chords

MT270

 Harmonics

MT271

 Other techniques

MT272

 Two violins

MT274

 Teaching pieces

MT275-6

 Instructive editions

MT278

 Self-instructors

MT279.5

 Fiddling; Folk-style violin playing

MT279.7

 Jazz

 

Subject Headings (for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)

KEYWORDS SUBJECT HEADINGS

Solo violin music:

sonatas (violin); suites (violin); variations (violin); etc.;violin music

Violin and piano music:

rondos (violin and piano); sonatas (violin and piano); suites (violin and piano); variations (violin and piano); etc.; violin and piano music

Duets:

violin music (violins (2))

viola and violin music; flute and violin music; horn and violin music; etc.

Trios:

string trios [for three bowed instruments]

trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (flute, violins (2)), trios (flute, timpani, violin)

Quartets:

string quartets [various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc.

string quartets [mixed string and woodwind instruments, various combinations];

also suites, variations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

KEYWORDS SUBJECT HEADINGS

Violin and Orchestra:

concertos (violin)

concertos (violin)--solo with piano

violin with orchestra

rondos (violin with orchestra), etc.

 

Classification Numbers for Books About the Violin

CALL NUMBERS SUBJECT

Ref. ML128 .V4

 Violin bibliographies

ML802

 Construction:. general works

ML803–M807

 Construction: by period

ML810–M842

 Construction: by region or country

ML845

 Construction: by parts of the violin

ML850

 Music and playing: general works

ML853–M857

 Music and playing: by period

ML860–M892

 Music and playing: by region or country

ML895–M897

 Music and playing: by form and type (sonata, suite, other)

 

Selected Periodicals

TITLE CALL NUMBER

Strings*

ML749.5 .S87

http://alice.library.ohio.edu:80/record=b3735988~S1

The Strad*

ML5 .S87x

http://alice.library.ohio.edu:80/record=b3727396~S1

*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library.

  

 

Selected Internet Resources

TITLE URL

Amati Makers Archive

http://www.amati.com/maker-archive-2/

Catgut Acoustical Society

http://www.catgutacoustical.org/

Violin Society of America

http://www.vsaweb.org/

 

Viola

Classification Numbers for Viola Music

CALL NUMBERS SUBJECT

M45–M49

 Viola alone:

     M45

     Collections (more than one composer)

     M46

     Original works: Collections (one composer)

     M47

     Original works: Separate

     M48

     Arrangements: Collections (one composer)

     M49

     Arrangements: Separate works

 M224–M228

 Viola with piano accompaniment:

     M224

     Collections (more than one composer)

     M225

     Original works: Collections (one composer)

     M226

     Original works: Separate

     M227

     Arrangements: Collections (one composer)

     M228

     Arrangements: Separate works

 M286–M287

 Duets for two stringed instruments (of all kinds):

     M286

     Collections

     M287

     Separate works

 M290–M291

 Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument

 M294–M295

 Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument

 M310–M314

 Piano and two stringed instruments

 M320–M324

 Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument

 M330–M334

 Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument

 M349–M353

 Three stringed instruments

 M360–M364

 Three stringed and wind instruments

 M370–M374

 Three stringed and plucked instruments

 M450

 Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium)

 M451

 Quartets—Collections (more than one composer)

 M452

 Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello

 M452.2

 Quartets—four violins

 M452.4

 Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments

Quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).

Concertos and similar pieces:

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

 M1014

 Viola with orchestra, full scores

 M1014.5

 Cadenzas for such works

 M1015

 Viola with orchestra, piano reductions

 M1114

 Viola with string orchestra, full scores

 M1114.5

 Cadenzas for such works

 M1115

 Viola with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and Methods

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

 MT280

 General works

 MT282

 Systems and methods

 MT285

 Studies and exercises: General works

 MT286

 Orchestral studies (excerpts)

 MT287

 Bowing

 MT288

 Positions

 MT289

 Chords

 MT290

 Harmonics

 MT291

 Other techniques

 MT292

 Two violas

 MT294

 Teaching pieces

 MT295

 Instructive editions: Two or more composers

 MT297

 Instructive editions: One composer

 MT298

 Self-instructors

 

Subject Headings (for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)

KEYWORDS SUBJECT HEADINGS

Solo viola music: 

sonatas (viola); suites (viola); variations (viola); etc.; viola music

Viola and piano music:

rondos (viola and piano); sonatas (viola and piano); suites (viola and piano); variations (viola and piano); etc.; viola and piano music

Duets:

viola music (violas (2))

violin and viola music; flute and viola music; horn and viola music; etc.

Trios:

string trios [for three bowed instruments]

trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (flute, violas (2)), trios (flute, timpani, viola), trios (percussion, violin, viola)

Quartets:

string quartets [various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc.

string quartets [mixed string and woodwind, various combinations];

also suites, variations, etc.
 

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets

Viola and Orchestra:

concertos (viola)

concertos (viola) -- solo with piano

viola with orchestra

rondos (viola with orchestra), etc.

 

Classification Numbers for Books About the Viola

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

 Ref. ML128 .V36

 Viola bibliographies

 ML900

 General works

 ML901

 Construction

 ML905

 Music and playing

 

Selected Periodicals

TITLE CALL NUMBER

 Journal of the American Viola Society (1985–)

 ML1 .J875

 Die Viola (1979–)

 ML5 .V7

Journal of the American Viola Society

http://alice.library.ohio.edu:80/record=b4668694~S1

Strings*

ML749.5 .S87

http://alice.library.ohio.edu:80/record=b3735988~S1

*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library.

  

 

Selected Internet Resources

TITLE URL

The American Viola Society

 www.americanviolasociety.org

Viola.com

 www.viola.com

 

 

Cello

Classification Numbers for Cello Music

CALL NUMBERS SUBJECT

M50–M54

 Violoncello alone:

     M50

     Collections (more than one composer)

     M51

     Original works: Collections (one composer)

     M52

     Original works: Separate

     M53

     Arrangements: Collections (one composer)

     M54

     Arrangements: Separate works

 M229–M236

 Violoncello with piano accompaniment:

     M229

     Collections (more than one composer)

     M230

     Original works: Collections (one composer)

     M231

     Original works: Sonatas

     M232

     Separate works: Suites and variations

     M233

     Separate works: Pieces

     M235

     Arrangements: Collections (one composer)

     M236

     Arrangements: Separate works

 M286–M287

 Duets for two string instruments (of all kinds):

     M286

     Collections

     M287

    Separate works

 M290–M291

 Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument

 M294–M295

 Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument

 M310–M314

 Piano and two stringed instruments

 M320–M324

 Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument

 M330–M334

 Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument

 M349–M353

 Three stringed instruments

 M360–M364

 Three stringed and wind instruments

 M370–M374

 Three stringed and plucked instruments

 M450

 Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium)

 M451

 Quartets—Collections (more than one composer)

 M452

 Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello

 M452.2

 Quartets—four violins

 M452.4

 Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments

Quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).. 

Concertos and similar pieces:

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

 M1016

 Violoncello with orchestra, full scores

 M1016.5

 Cadenzas for such works

 M1017

 Violoncello with orchestra, piano reductions

 M1116

 Violoncello with string orchestra, full scores

 M1116.5

 Cadenzas for such works

 M1117

 Violoncello with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Studies and Methods

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

MT300

 General works

MT302

 Systems and methods

MT305

 Studies and exercises: General works

MT306

 Orchestral studies (excerpts)

MT307

 Bowing

MT308

 Positions

MT309

 Chords

MT310

 Other techniques

MT312

 Two violoncellos

MT314

 Teaching pieces

MT315

 Instructive editions: Two or more composers

MT317

 Instructive editions: One composer

MT318

 Self-instructors

 

Subject Headings (for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)

KEYWORDS SUBJECT HEADINGS

Solo violoncello music:

sonatas (cello); variations (cello); etc.; cello music

Violoncello and piano music:

rondos (cello and piano); sonatas (cello and piano); suites (cello and piano); variations (cello and piano); etc.; cello and piano music

Duets:

cello music (cellos (2))

violin and cello music; flute and cello music; horn and cello music; etc.

Trios:

string trios [for three bowed instruments]

trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (flute, viola, cello), trios (percussion, cellos (2)), trios (guitar, violin, cello)

Quartets:

string quartets [various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc.

string quartets [mixed string and woodwind instruments, various combinations];

also suites, variations, etc.

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

KEYWORDS SUBJECT HEADINGS

Violoncello and Orchestra:

concertos (cello)

concertos (cello)--solo with piano

cello with orchestra

rondos (cello with orchestra), etc.

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Cello

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

Ref. ML128 .V5

 Violoncello bibliographies

ML910

 General works

ML911

 Construction

ML915

 Music and playing

 

Selected Periodicals

TITLE CALL NUMBER

The Strad*

ML5 .S87

http://alice.library.ohio.edu:80/record=b3727396~S1

Strings*

ML749.5 .S87

http://alice.library.ohio.edu:80/record=b3735988~S1

*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library.

  

 

Selected Internet Resources

TITLE URL

Internet Cello Society

http://www.cello.org/

New Directions Cello Association and Festival

https://newdirectionscello.org/

 

Double Bass

Classification Numbers for Double Bass

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

M55–M58

 Double bass alone:

     M55

     Collections (more than one composer)

     M56

     Original works: Collections

     M57

     Original works: Separate

     M58

     Arrangements

 M229–M233

 Double bass with piano accompaniment:

     M229

     Collections (more than one composer)

     M230

     Original works: Collections

     M231

     Sonatas

     M232

     Suites and variations

     M233

     Pieces

 M286–M287

 Duets for two string instruments (of all kinds):

     M286

     Collections

     M287

     Separate works

 M290–M291

 Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument

 M294–M295

 Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument

 M310–M314

 Piano and two stringed instruments

 M320–M324

 Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument

 M330–M334

 Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument

 M349–M353

 Three stringed instruments

 M360–M364

 Three stringed and wind instruments

 M370–M374

 Three stringed and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).

 Concertos and similar pieces:

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

 M1018

 Double bass with orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas

 M1118

 Double bass with string orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas

 

Studies and Methods

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

 MT320
 

General works

 MT322
 

Systems and methods

 MT330

Studies and exercises: General works

 MT331 
 

Orchestral studies

 MT333
 

Teaching pieces

 MT333.4
 

Instructive editions

 MT334

Self-instructors 

 

Subject Headings (for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)

KEYWORDS SUBJECT HEADINGS

Solo double bass music:

sonatas (double bass); suites (double bass); variations (double bass); etc., double bass music

Double bass and piano music:

rondos (double bass and piano); sonatas (double bass and piano); suites (double bass and piano); variations (double bass and piano); etc.; double bass and piano music

Duets:

double bass music (double basses (2))

violin and double bass music; flute and double bass music; horn and double bass music; etc.

Trios:

string trios [for three bowed instruments]

trios [mixed brass and woodwind instruments, various combinations]; e.g., trios (piano, double basses (2)), trios (flute, horn, double bass)

Quartets:

string quartets [various combinations]

also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc.

also suites, variations, etc.
 

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets

Double bass and Orchestra

concertos (double bass)

concertos (double bass) -- solo with piano

double bass with orchestra

concertos (double bass with string orchestra)

rondos (double bass with orchestra; etc.

 

Classification Numbers for Books About the Double Bass

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

 Ref. ML128 .D6

 Double-bass bibliographies

 ML920

 General works

 ML921

 Construction

 ML925

 Music and playing

 

Selected Periodicals

TITLE CALL NUMBER

Bass World*

ML920 .K58

Double Bassist (1996-2008)

http://alice.library.ohio.edu:80/record=b4011531~S1

*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library.

  

 

Selected Internet Resources

TITLE URL

 International Society of Bassists

 www.isbworldoffice.com

 Bass double bass

 http://pages.videotron.com/base

 

 

Harp

Classification Numbers for Harp Music

CALL NUMBERS SUBJECT

M115–M119

 Harp alone:

     M115

     Collections (more than one composer)

     M116

     Original works: Collections (one composer)

     M117

     Original works: Separate

     M118

     Arrangements: Collections

     M119

     Arrangements: Separate works

 M272–M273

 Harp with piano accompaniment:

     M272

     Collections

     M273

     Separate works

 M292–M293

 Duets for two plucked instruments (of all kinds):

     M292

     Collections

     M293

     Separate works

 M294–M295

 Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument

 M296–M297

 Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument

 M325–M329

 Piano and two plucked instruments

 M330–M334

 Piano, one string, and one plucked instrument

 M335–M339

 Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument

 M365–M369

 Three plucked instruments

 M370–M374

 Three stringed and plucked instruments

 M375–M379

 Three wind and plucked instruments

 M380–M384

 Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).

Concertos and similar pieces:

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

 M1036

 Harp with orchestra, full scores

 M1036.5

 Cadenzas for such works

 M1037

 Harp with orchestra, piano reductions

 M1136

 Harp with string orchestra, full scores

 M1136.5

 Cadenzas for such works

 M1137

 Harp with string orchestra, piano reductions

 

Subject Headings (for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)

KEYWORDS SUBJECT HEADINGS

Solo harp music:

sonatas (harp); suites (harp); variations (harp); etc., harp music

Harp and piano music:

rondos (harp and piano); sonatas (harp and piano); suites (harp and piano); variations (harp and piano); etc.; harp and piano music

Duets:

harp music (harps (2))

violin and harp music; flute and harp music; horn and harp music; etc.

Trios:

plucked instrument trios [for three plucked instruments]

trios [mixed stringed and plucked instruments, various combinations]; e.g., trios (flute, harp, viola), trios (harp, violin, violoncello)

Quartets:

plucked instrument quartets [various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of plucked instruments]; variations [various combinations of plucked instruments]; etc.

plucked instrument quartets [mixed string and woodwind instruments, various combinations];

also suites; variations; etc.
 

Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets

Harp and Orchestra:

concertos (harp)

concertos (harp) -- solo with piano

harp with orchestra

concertos (harp with string orchestra)

rondos (harp) with orchestra, etc.

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Harp

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

Ref. ML128 .H3

 Harp bibliographies

 ML1005

 General works

 ML1006

 Construction

 ML1008

 Music and playing

 

Selected Periodicals

TITLE CALL NUMBER

The American Harp Journal

ML1 .A42x

http://alice.library.ohio.edu:80/record=b4259657~S1

 

Selected Internet Resources

TITLE URL

 American Harp Society

 http://www.harpsociety.org/

 The Harp Therapy Journal

 http://www.harptherapy.com/

 

Guitar

Classification Numbers for Guitar Music

CALL NUMBERS SUBJECT

M125–M129

 Guitar alone:

     M125

     Collections (more than one composer)

     M126

     Original works: Collections (one composer)

     M127

     Original works: Separate

     M128

     Arrangements: Collections (one composer)

     M129

     Arrangements: Separate works

 M276–M277

 Guitar with piano accompaniment:

     M276

     Collections

     M277

     Separate works

 M292–M293

 Duets for two plucked instruments (of all kinds):

     M292

     Collections

     M293

     Separate works

 M294–M295

 Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument

 M296–M297

 Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument

 M325–M329

 Piano and two plucked instruments

 M330–M334

 Piano, one string, and one plucked instrument

 M335–M339

 Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument

 M365–M369

 Three plucked instruments

 M370–M374

 Three stringed and plucked instruments

 M375–M379

 Three wind and plucked instruments

 M380–M384

 Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).

Concertos and similar pieces:

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

 M1037.4 .G8

 Guitar with orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas

 M1137.4 .G8

 Guitar with string orchestra: full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas

 

Studies and Methods

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

 MT580

 General works

 MT582

 Systems and methods

 MT583

 Teaching pieces

 MT584

 Instructive editions

 MT586

 Orchestral studies (excerpts)

 MT587

 Two guitars

 MT588

 Self-instructors

 MT590–MT599

 Other instruments of the guitar family

 

Classification Numbers for Books about the Guitar

CALL NUMBER SUBJECT

Ref. ML128 .G8

 Guitar bibliographies

ML1015.G9

 Other books

 

Selected Internet Resources

TITLE URL

Classical Guitar Homepage

http://www.guitarist.com

Guitar World Online

http://guitarworld.com

Just Jazz Guitar

http://www.justjazzguitar.com

 

 

Subjects: Music