Chamber Music
Classification Numbers for Chamber Music
M300–386 Trios:
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M300–M304 |
Organ and two other instruments: |
|
M300 |
Collections (different composers) |
|
M301 |
Collections (one composer), original works |
|
M302 |
Separate works, original |
|
M303 |
Collections (one composer), arrangements |
|
M304 |
Separate works, arrangements |
|
M305–M309 |
Reed organ and two other instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M310–M314 |
Piano and two stringed instruments: |
|
M310 |
Collections (different composers), original works and arrangements |
|
M311 |
Collections (different composers), original works |
|
M312 |
Piano, violin or viola, and violoncello |
|
M312.4 |
Separate works, original (other combinations than M312 instrumentation) |
|
M313 |
Collections (one composer), arrangements |
|
M314 |
Separate works, arrangements |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M325–M329 |
Piano and two plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M330–M334 |
Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M340–M344 |
Piano and other combinations (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M349–M353 |
String trios (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M355–M359 |
Wind trios: |
|
M355 |
Collections (different composers), original works and arrangements |
|
M356 |
Collections (different composers), original works |
|
M357 |
Separate works, original (woodwinds and brass) |
|
M357.2 |
Separate works, original (woodwinds only) |
|
M357.4 |
Separate works, original (brass instruments only) |
|
M358 |
Collections (one composer), arrangements |
|
M359 |
Separate works, arrangements |
|
M360–M364 |
Stringed and wind instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M365–M369 |
Plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M370–M374 |
Stringed and plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M375–M379 |
Wind and plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M380–M384 |
Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M385 |
Other combinations of specified instruments (including percussion) |
|
M386 |
Unspecified instruments, or combinations of specified and unspecified instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively). Some of the most frequently requested combinations of more than three instruments may be found below.
Frequently Requested Instrument Combinations
M300–386 Trios:
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M300–M304 |
Organ and two other instruments: |
|
M300 |
Collections (different composers) |
|
M301 |
Collections (one composer), original works |
|
M302 |
Separate works, original |
|
M303 |
Collections (one composer), arrangements |
|
M304 |
Separate works, arrangements |
|
M305–M309 |
Reed organ and two other instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M310–M314 |
Piano and two stringed instruments: |
|
M310 |
Collections (different composers), original works and arrangements |
|
M311 |
Collections (different composers), original works |
|
M312 |
Piano, violin or viola, and violoncello |
|
M312.4 |
Separate works, original (other combinations than M312 instrumentation) |
|
M313 |
Collections (one composer), arrangements |
|
M314 |
Separate works, arrangements |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M325–M329 |
Piano and two plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M330–M334 |
Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M340–M344 |
Piano and other combinations (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M349–M353 |
String trios (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M355–M359 |
Wind trios: |
|
M355 |
Collections (different composers), original works and arrangements |
|
M356 |
Collections (different composers), original works |
|
M357 |
Separate works, original (woodwinds and brass) |
|
M357.2 |
Separate works, original (woodwinds only) |
|
M357.4 |
Separate works, original (brass instruments only) |
|
M358 |
Collections (one composer), arrangements |
|
M359 |
Separate works, arrangements |
|
M360–M364 |
Stringed and wind instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M365–M369 |
Plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M370–M374 |
Stringed and plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M375–M379 |
Wind and plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M380–M384 |
Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments (follows pattern of M301–M304) |
|
M385 |
Other combinations of specified instruments (including percussion) |
|
M386 |
Unspecified instruments, or combinations of specified and unspecified instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively). Some of the most frequently requested combinations of more than three instruments may be found below.
Subject Headings (for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Trios |
piano trios [always means works for piano, violin, and violoncello] string trios [various stringed instruments], e.g., string trios (violins (2), violoncello) brass trios [three brass instruments], e.g., brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpet) wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind instruments, various combinations], e.g. wind trios (flute, horns (2)) woodwind trios [three woodwind instruments], e.g., woodwind trios (bassoon, clarinet, flute) trios [various instruments of all types], e.g., trios (piano, flute, violoncello) |
|
Quartets: |
follow similar patterns as above, for instance: piano quartets [always means works for piano, violin, viola, and violoncello] string quartets [always means works for 2 violins, viola, and violoncello] brass quartets [various combinations as above] |
|
Patterns are similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. Other useful subject terms include suites and variations followed by the instrumentation, e.g., suites (piano, violin, viola, violoncello) or variations (flute, horn, percussion, violoncello). |
Selected Bibliography
Anderson, Paul G., comp. Brass Ensemble Music Guide. Evanston, IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1978. On order
Clark, David Lindsey. Appraisals of Original Wind Music: A Survey and Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999. Ref. ML128 .W5 C6 1999
Cohn, Arthur. The Literature of Chamber Music. 4 vols. Chapel Hill, NC: Hinshaw Music, 1997. Ref. ML1100 .C63 1997x
Farish, Margaret K. String Music in Print. New York: R.R. Bowker Co., 1973. Ref. ML128 .S7 F4 1973 (with multiple supplements until 1998)
Gillaspie, Jon A., Marshall Stoneham, and David Lindsey Clark. The Wind Ensemble Catalog. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998. Ref. ML128 .W5 G52 1998
Lawrence, Ian. The Twentieth-Century String Quartet: An Historical Introduction and Catalogue. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2001. Ref. ML128 .C4 L37 2001
Stoneham, Marshall, Jon A. Gillaspie, and David Lindsey Clark. Wind Ensemble Sourcebook and Biographical Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997. Ref. ML128 .W5 S76 1997
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
Chamber Music America |