Piano
Classification Numbers for Piano
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M20–M39 |
Piano alone: |
|
M20 |
Collections, mixed (original works and arrangements; two or more composers) |
|
M21 |
Collections: original works, two or more composers |
|
M22 |
Collections: original works, one composer |
|
M23 |
Sonatas |
|
M24 |
Suites |
|
M25 |
Pieces |
|
M26 |
Piano, one hand: left |
|
M26.2 |
Piano, one hand: right |
|
M27 |
Variations |
|
M28 |
Marches |
|
M30 |
Dances—general |
|
M31 |
Dances—duple meter (polka, etc.) |
|
M32 |
Dances—triple meter (waltz, etc.) |
|
M32.8 |
Arrangements: collections |
|
M33 |
Arrangements: complete works for opera, oratorios, and cantatas (NOT piano-vocal scores) |
|
M33.5 |
Arrangements: excerpts from opera, oratorio, and cantatas |
|
M34 |
Arrangements: transcriptions (for concert purpose) of operas, oratorios, cantatas, and excerpts |
|
M35 |
Arrangements: orchestral and band music |
|
M37 |
Arrangements: concertos (NOT piano reductions of concertos for solo instrument[s] and orchestra) |
|
M37.5 |
Arrangements: concertos, excerpts |
|
M38 |
Arrangements: chamber music, part songs, music for other solo instruments |
|
M39 |
Arrangements: potpourris, medleys |
|
M39.6 |
Arrangements: piano, one hand |
|
M198–M216 |
Duets (piano only) |
|
M198 |
Three hands |
|
M200 |
Four hands: mixed collections (original works and arrangements) |
|
M201 |
Four hands: original works, collections |
|
M20 |
Four hands: Sonatas |
|
M203 |
Four hands: Suites, Variations |
|
M204 |
Four hands: Pieces |
|
M207 |
Arrangements: collections by two or more composers |
|
M208 |
Arrangements: operas, ballets, oratorios, cantatas (complete) |
|
M208.5 |
Arrangements: operas, ballets, oratorios, cantatas (excerpts) |
|
M209 |
Arrangements: orchestral and band music |
|
M210 |
Arrangements: concertos (NOT two-piano versions of concertos for solo instrument[s] and orchestra) |
|
M211 |
Arrangements: chamber music, songs, and part songs |
|
M213 |
Piano, five or more hands |
|
M214 |
Two pianos, two performers: original works |
|
M215 |
Two pianos, two performers: arrangements |
|
M216 |
Two or more pianos, three or more performers |
|
M217–M285 |
Duets (piano and other solo instruments) |
|
M217–M239 |
Piano and one stringed instrument |
|
M240–M271 |
Piano and one wind instrument |
|
M272–M283 |
Piano and one plucked instrument |
|
M284–M285 |
Piano and other (includes percussion and electronics) |
|
M310–M344 |
Trios (Piano and two other instruments) |
|
M310–M314 |
Piano and two stringed instruments |
|
M315–M319 |
Piano and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M325–M329 |
Piano and two plucked instruments |
|
M330–M334 |
Piano, one string, and one plucked instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M340–M344 |
Piano and other combinations |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1010 |
Piano with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1010.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1011 |
Piano with orchestra (two-piano versions) |
|
M1110 |
Piano with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1110.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1111 |
Piano with string orchestra (two-piano versions) |
Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT220 |
General works |
|
MT221 |
Physiology of the hand (including hand exercises) |
|
MT222 |
Systems and methods |
|
MT224 |
Rudiments of music when combined with piano instruction |
|
MT225–M239 |
Studies and exercises |
|
MT225 |
General works |
|
MT226 |
Left hand |
|
MT227 |
Pedal |
|
MT228 |
Touch |
|
MT229 |
Wrist |
|
MT230 |
Thirds, sixths, etc. |
|
MT231 |
Scales and arpeggios |
|
MT232 |
Fingering |
|
MT233 |
Rhythm |
|
MT235 |
Phrasing |
|
MT236 |
Sight reading, transposition, accompaniment, etc. |
|
MT238 |
Polyphonic playing |
|
MT239 |
Performance of popular music |
|
MT240 |
Other |
|
MT242 |
Four-hand, two-piano, etc. playing |
|
MT243 |
Teaching pieces |
|
MT245 |
Instructive editions, two or more composers |
|
MT247 |
Instructive editions, one composer |
|
MT248 |
Self-instructors |
|
MT250–M258 |
Special pianos, including early instruments |
Subject Headings (for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo piano music: |
piano music; sonatas (piano); suites (piano); variations (piano); etc. |
|
Duets: |
piano music (3 hands); piano music (4 hands); piano music (5 hands); etc. piano music (pianos (2)) |
|
Trios: |
piano trios |
|
Quartets: |
piano quartets |
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets |
|
|
Piano and Orchestra: |
concertos (piano) piano with orchestra concertos (piano with string orchestra) rondos (piano with orchestra), etc. |
Classification Numbers for Books About the Piano
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .P3 |
Piano bibliographies |
|
ML650 |
General works |
|
ML651–697 |
Construction: general works; by time period; by region or country; special makes; parts of the piano |
|
ML700–747 |
Music and playing: general works; by time period; by region or country; forms and types of music |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
Clavier |
ML1 .C79 |
|
Clavier Companion* |
ML1 .C79 |
|
Keyboard |
ML1 .C9153 |
|
Piano & Keyboard |
ML1 .P66 |
|
*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library. |
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
Piano World |
|
|
Steinway & Sons |
Organ
Classification Numbers for Organ Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M6–M14 |
Organ alone: |
|
M6 |
Collections, mixed (original works and arrangements; more than one composer) |
|
M7 |
General collections (one composer) |
|
M8 |
Sonatas |
|
M8.5 |
Symphonies |
|
M9 |
Suites, Variations, and Cyclical Works |
|
M10 |
Fugues (with or without preludes) |
|
M11 |
Pieces |
|
M11.2 |
Pedal pieces |
|
M12 |
Arrangements: collections |
|
M13 |
Arrangements: separate works |
|
M14 |
Books (accompaniments to collections of psalms and hymns) |
|
M14.3-.5 |
Liturgical music (special seasons and occasions) |
|
M14.8 |
Electronic Organ music |
|
M180-186 |
Duets |
|
M180-181 |
One or more organs, two or more players |
|
M182-186 |
Organ and one other instrument |
|
M300–M304 |
Trios, organ and two other instruments |
|
M400–M404 |
Quartets, organ and three other instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1005 |
Organ with orchestra, full scores |
|
M1005.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1006 |
Organ with orchestra, piano reductions |
|
M1108 |
Organ with string orchestra, full scores |
|
M1108.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1109 |
Organ with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Studies and Methods
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
MT180 |
General works |
|
MT182 |
Systems and methods; Studies and exercises |
|
MT185 |
General works: special techniques |
|
MT187 |
Special techniques: pedal |
|
MT189 |
Special techniques: registration |
|
MT190 |
Special techniques: accompaniment of liturgical music |
|
MT193 |
Teaching pieces; Instructive editions |
|
MT198 |
Self-instructors |
Subject Headings (for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo organ music: |
organ music; sonatas (organ); suites (organ); fugues (organ); passacaglias (organ); etc. |
|
Duets: |
organ music (organs (2)); organ music (4 hands) [instrument(s)] and organ music, e.g., trumpet and organ music |
|
Trios: |
trios (organ, [instrument(s)], e.g., trios (organ, trumpet, trombone) |
|
Quartets: |
quartets (organ, [instrument(s)]) |
|
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
|
Organ with Orchestra: |
organ with orchestra; [instrument(s)] and organ music |
Selected Bibiography
Arnold, Corliss Richard. Organ Literature: A Comprehensive Survey. 3rd ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1995. Ref. ML600 .A76 1995
Hettinger, Sharon L. American Organ Music of the Twentieth Century: An Annotated Bibliography of Composers. Warren, MI: Harmonie Park Press, 1997. Ref. ML106 .U3 H47 1997
Kratzenstein, Marilou. Survey of Organ Literature and Editions. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1980. ML600 .K73
Lovelace, Austin C. The Anatomy of Hymnody. New York: Abingdon Press, 1965.
_______. The Organist and Hymn Playing. New York: Abingdon Press, 1962. MT180 .L69
Lukas, Viktor. A Guide to Organ Music. Translated by Anne Wyburd from the fifth edition; with addenda by Lee Garrett; Reinhard G. Pauly, general editor. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1989. MT140 .L8413 1989
Ochse, Orpha Caroline. Organists and Organ Playing in Nineteenth-Century France and Belgium. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1994. ML624 .O25 1994
Sonnaillon, Bernard. King of Instruments: A History of the Organ, trans. Stewart Spencer. New York: Rizzoli, 1985. ML550 .S713 1985
Stauffer, George, and Ernest May, ed. J.S. Bach as Organist: His Instruments, Music, and Performance Practices. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1986. ML410 .B1 J2 1986
Williams, Peter, and Barbara Owen. The New Grove Organ. New York: Norton, 1988. Ref. ML550 .W55 1988x
Classification Numbers for Books About the Organ
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .O6 |
Organ bibliographies |
|
ML550 |
General works |
|
ML552-597 |
Construction: general works; by time period; by region or country; individual instruments; special parts |
|
ML600-649 |
Music and playing: general works; by time period; by region or country; forms and types of music |
Selected Periodicals
| TITLE | CALL NUMBER |
|---|---|
|
The American Organist* |
ML1 .M327 |
|
The Hymn |
ML1 .H92 |
|
The Organ |
ML5 .O86x |
|
The Organ Yearbook |
ML5 .O875 |
|
The Tracker |
|
|
*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library. |
|
Selected Internet Resources
| TITLE | URL |
|---|---|
|
American Guild of Organists |
|
|
Göteborg International Organ Academy |
|
|
Organ Focus |
|
|
Organ Historical Society |
|
|
St. Sulpice |
|
|
Westfield Center |
|
|
|
|
Harpsichord
Classification Numbers for Harpsichord Music
| CALL NUMBERS | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M20–M39 |
Harpsichord alone: |
|
M20 |
Collections, mixed (original works and arrangements; two or more composers) |
|
M21 |
Collections: original works, two or more composers |
|
M22 |
Collections: original works, one composer |
|
M23 |
Sonatas |
|
M24 |
Suites |
|
M25 |
Pieces |
|
M27 |
Variations |
|
M28 |
Marches |
|
M30 |
Dances—general |
|
M31 |
Dances—duple meter (polka, etc.) |
|
M32 |
Dances—triple meter (waltz, etc.) |
|
M32.8 |
Arrangements: collections |
|
M35 |
Arrangements: orchestral music |
|
M38 |
Arrangements: chamber music, part songs, music for other solo instruments |
|
M39 |
Arrangements: potpourris, medleys |
|
M198–M212 |
Duets (harpsichord only) |
|
M200 |
Four hands: mixed collections (original works and arrangements) |
|
M201 |
Four hands: original works, collections |
|
M202 |
Four hands: Sonatas |
|
M203 |
Four hands: Suites, Variations |
|
M204 |
Four hands: Pieces |
|
M207 |
Arrangements: collections by two or more composers |
|
M209 |
Arrangements: orchestral music |
|
M210 |
Arrangements: concertos (NOT two-harpsichord versions of concertos for solo instrument[s] and orchestra) |
|
M214 |
Two harpsichords, two performers: original works |
|
M215 |
Two harpsichords, two performers: arrangements |
|
M217–M285 |
Duets (harpsichord and other solo instruments) |
|
M217–M239 |
Harpsichord and one stringed instrument |
|
M240–M271 |
Harpsichord and one wind instrument |
|
M272–M283 |
Harpsichord and one plucked instrument |
|
M284–M285 |
Harpsichord and other (includes percussion and electronics) |
|
M310–M344 |
Trios (Harpsichord and two other instruments) |
|
M310–M314 |
Harpsichord and two stringed instruments |
|
M315–M319 |
Harpsichord and two wind instruments |
|
M320–M324 |
Harpsichord, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
|
M325–M329 |
Harpsichord and two plucked instruments |
|
M330–M334 |
Harpsichord, one string, and one plucked instrument |
|
M335–M339 |
Harpsichord, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
|
M340–M344 |
Harpsichord and other combinations |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and Similar Pieces:
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
M1010 |
Harpsichord with orchestra |
|
M1010.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1011 |
Harpsichord with orchestra (two-keyboard versions) |
|
M1110 |
Harpsichord with string orchestra |
|
M1110.5 |
Cadenzas for such works |
|
M1111 |
Harpsichord with string orchestra (two-keyboard versions) |
Studies and Methods
Studies and methods: MT252
See also under Piano studies and methods (MT220–MT225+)
Subject Headings (for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)
| KEYWORDS | SUBJECT HEADINGS |
|---|---|
|
Solo harpsichord music: |
harpsichord music; sonatas (harpsichord); suites (harpsichord); variations (harpsichord); etc. |
|
Duets: |
harpsichord music (4 hands); harpsichord music (harpsichords (2)) |
|
Trios: |
trios ([instrumentation]), where instrumentation = e.g., harpsichord, flute, violin |
|
Quartets: |
quartets ([instrumentation]), where instrumentation = e.g., harpsichord, flute, violin, viola da gamba |
|
|
Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets |
|
Harpsichord and Orchestra: |
concertos (harpsichord) harpsichord with orchestra concertos (harpsichord with string orchestra), etc. |
Classification Numbers for Books About the Harpsichord
| CALL NUMBER | SUBJECT |
|---|---|
|
Ref. ML128 .H35 |
Harpsichord bibliographies |
|
ML651 |
General works |
Selected Internet Resources
Harpsichord Clearing House: http://www.harpsichord.com