Acropolis Virtual Tour
"The Virtual Tour of the Acropolis monuments consists of high-resolution gigapixel images and panoramas of the most prominent monuments - the Parthenon, the Propylaia, the Erechtheion and the Temple of Athena Nike - as well as detailed photographic displays of selected views from the outer surface of the ancient walls surrounding the hill."
ARTstor and Flickr
Artstor is an online repository of more than a million digital images relating to art history, covering a wide range of time periods and cultures. This is the major database for images of art objects. Thumbnail images from Artstor are included in ArticlesPlus, with links to the full records in Artstor itself.
There are a number of videos on Youtube which can help you learn to use ARTstor effectively.
Flickr is a vast photo-sharing site. You can search the whole site and/or explore some of the sections listed below (originally posted at AWOL: the Ancient World Online) which are devoted explicity to the ancient world.
- Aerial Photographic Archive for Archaeology in the Middle East flickr Photostream
- American School of Classical Studies at Athens flickr Photostream
- Centre for Egyptological Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow (CESRAS) and the Russian Institute of Egyptology in Cairo (RIEC) flickr Photostream
- The Egypt Exploration Society flickr Photostream
- Institute for the Study of the Ancient World flickr Photostream
- The Monuments of Syria flickr Photostream
- The Palestine Exploration Fund flickr Photostream
- The University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology flickr Photostream
Other Sites
- Ancient Theatre Archive
An atlas of the remains of Greco-Roman theater buildings, with descriptions and virtual reality images of many of them. The site also includes a bibliography and glossary of terms. - Beazley ArchiveCollection of databases covering the art of ancient Greece and Rome, including pottery, gems, sculpture, and other media.
- ChironA Flickr group with a large set of photos relating to Greek and Roman civilization.
- MetisContains numerous photos and plans for Greek archaeological sites; unfortunately, the images are quite small. Requires Apple's Quicktime software.
- Perseus Digital LibraryHuge collection of texts and images. See in particular the Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser.