Context
Encyclopedias provide a great entry point into gender studies. This is because they provide a broad overview of a topic, person, or event. They can also be used to identify other terms to use in your searches. Whereas, articles will be really specific and narrow in what they cover. Further, articles will use the language, terminology, and theories other scholars will know.
So if you are starting out on a research topic, you might consider starting with one of the gender studies encyclopedias below. Thinking about these questions will help you identify a research question/statement: Where are the gaps? What isn't covered? Who is or is not represented?
An easy place to start would be in Wikipedia. Just remember, that encyclopedias (including Wikipedia) are considered tertiary sources and are not generally used in our academic writing.
Searching hints:
- Distinguish between "search this book" vs "search all e-books" boxes before you type in your query.
- Presentation of search results vary widely, and are not intuitive. Ask for help if you get stuck!
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2008Sorry for the poor search interface, but this e-pedia will help you get started. Once you do a search, follow the little numbers on the index list for your results.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2007Easy to use; good overviews of topics.
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 1576075818Publication Date: 2003The first comprehensive guide to women activists from every part of the world, illuminating the broad range of women's struggles to reform society from the 18th century to the present. ''Women have always stepped forward to accept the challenge that a moral moment presents, '' observes Marian Wright Edelman, a leading children's rights advocate
Men and Masculinities by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2003"Men's Studies" resources are listed separately from "Gender Studies" resources.
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780199328581Publication Date: 2016
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781483371306Publication Date: 2016
Other Subject Guides You May Need
These guides will offer more databases and web sites in their respective fields.