Library Databases for Finding Articles, Research, and Legal Materials
- PubMedOne of the most-used medical and healthcare resources.
- CINAHLCumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature
- Food Science SourceThis database covers food industry-related sources, such as agriculture, food & beverage science, food packaging, food processing, food safety, food service, food shipping, culinary innovation, hospitality and tourism and product development.
- AccessMedicineAn online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
- Cochrane LibraryA collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- ClinicalKeyAble to search by clinical trials and reviews, including: patient education, monographs, expert summaries, and journal articles.
- TRIPA clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied HealthContent includes: Instructional multimedia (video, audio, books, figures, etc.); Scholarly articles (including systematic reviews); Conference Proceedings and Reports; Clinical training videos; Best Practices and Guidelines; Dissertations
- Natural MedicinesNatural Medicines is a large, evidence-based resource for information on natural medicines, supplements, complementary and alternative therapies with a variety of tools and resources.
- Policy AtlasA comprehensive database that allows you to more easily identify data sources that can be used for your policy-relevant research or to discover new sources for health data.
- ScopusSearch a BUNCH of journals all at once with great filters like: most cited, impact factors, and related woks.
- Environment CompleteArticle database that covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more
- AgricolaThe index to the agricultural literature produced by the United States Department of Agriculture. There are separate indexes for the serial and book portions of this database.
- GreenFileGreenFILE provides information on all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Waters and Oceans WorldwideCombines databases on all facets of international water research. Includes research ranging from coastal and offshore engineering to pollution and water treatment. Contains over 1,854,600 citations and abstracts dating back to the 1970s
- Social Services AbstractsFocused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development
- SocINDEXCovers Anthropology, Social Sciences, Sociology & Social Work
- Social Sciences AbstractsIndexes articles (from 1983 to the present) on all areas of the social sciences. Subjects covered include anthropology, area studies, communication, economics, ethnic studies, geography, human services, international relations, law, police sciences, political sciences, population studies, psychiatry, psychology, public adminstration, public health, social work, sociology, women's studies.
- Sociological CollectionThis database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals in areas of sociology including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
- Abstracts In Social GerontologyJournal articles from many disciplines covering essential areas related to social gerontology.
- PsycINFOFind journal articles in psychology and related disciplines
- Proquest CongressionalInformation about members of Congress, legislation, articles from the National Journal, and selected articles from major U.S. newspapers, the Congressional Record, and text of Bills.
- HeinOnlineFederal and International laws, regulations, and journal articles
- Public Affairs IndexThis database covers national and global contemporary public policy issues. Sources includes scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications, and government documents.
- Academic Search CompleteAn article database indexing nearly 11,000 journals and magazines covering a broad range of fields.
- Lexis UniSearch for law, cases, hearings, news, etc.
- Ohio Capitol ConnectionOhio leglislative and governmental information service, including bill tracking, the full text of bills, the administrative code and revised code, committee rosters, and legislator information.
- National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceInformation on national and international criminal justice issues, including juvenile justice and crime prevention including: federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
- National Journal Group Policy CentralA Searchable collection of National Journal Group political magazines and a comprehensive resource on politics and policy for the academic community.
- Business Source Complete
Provides full text access of more than 3500 journals, trade publications, magazines, company reports, and more, in the disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Also useful for finding company profiles, industry profiles, and SWOT analysis for companies. - EconLit
A comprehensive database of the world's economic literature, covering over 400 major journals, as well as articles in the collective volumes, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. - Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (previously known as LexisNexis Academic for ages) is a great source for company or industry news, company profiles, legal cases, financials, family trees, accounting publications, law journals, and more.
Use Google in a Smart Way
We all use Google and for certain research processes such as research on policies, professional organizations, educational information, and government-related programs, using Google can be the quickest and easiest tool.
Here is the trick to searching Google smart:
When searching Google for a policy, regulation, law, or program (just to name a few) type this into the search bar:
site:.gov (Child Development AND Divorce)
What this is doing is "telling" Google to ONLY search government websites (.gov) on my topic in parentheses. It will search for nothing else and takes your literally MILLIONS of results down to a hundred thousand. You can do the same for .edu or .org sites.
U.S. Government Resources (Open Access)
- AHRQ's National Guideline ClearinghouseAHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines
- Catalog of Federal Domestic AssistanceFinancial and nonfinancial assistance programs administrated by the federal government.
- Census BureauSocial, demographic, and economic information (included statistics) that you can utilize. The FactFinder is super helpful for populations estimates for the future and general statistics.
- CIA - The World FactbookUseful for profiles of countries, including background, geography, government, transportation, and area maps.
- Congress.govLegislative Branch Information from the Library of Congress. Includes current legislation, congressional calendar, committee information, directories and much more.
- Department of AgricultureFind information on how our crops and food is regulated: food safety, dietary guidelines, farm bill info and more
- Department of Health and Human ServicesHHS is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.
- Food and Drug AdministrationFood and drug federal laws, regulations, and programs
- Government PortalSearch the government websites for laws, regulations, bills, health information, and more
- Government Printing OfficeFederal databases including the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, the Congressional Record, and the catalog of U S Governmental Publications.
- Healthy Communities Program (2008-2012)Division of Community Health
- MedicareOfficial U S government site for Medicare information.
- National Public Health Performance Standards (NPHPS)The National Public Health Performance Standards (NPHPS or the Standards) provide a framework to assess capacity and performance of public health systems and public health governing bodies. This framework can help identify areas for system improvement, strengthen state and local partnerships, and ensure that a strong system is in place for addressing public health issues.
- Social SecurityOfficial web site of the U S Social Security Administration.