Consumers & Customers
Use these resources to better understand the pet industry's consumers and customers. These resources will provide consumer demographics, customer trends, buying behavior, and more.
- Mintel
Contains market research reports for specific consumer product categories. Also useful for sport business marketing. Covers US and some International marketplaces. Especially useful for consumer demographics, psychographics, buying behavior, motivations, and more.
- Search for "pet" yields reports such as:
- Pet Supplies
- America's Pet Owners
- Pet Food
- Pet Store Retailing
- In addition to the full reports, be sure to check out the "Databook" in each of the reports to dig deep into consumer demographics and psychographics (purchasing motivations, buying behaviors, etc.)
- Simmons Insights
Contains demographic information about users of specific consumer products including: what they use, income and educational level, what types of media they use, and more. See my Simmons Tips & Tricks for help using the database.
Use Simmons Catalysts to create a demographic profile of pet consumers. The directions below assume you are using version 2.0 of the database.
- Under "Profile", click on "Quick Reports"
- Click the Composer button to search
- Enter search terms (dog, cat, pet, brand of dog food, etc. ) in the search box and select the variable
- Select the variable, then click "Add"
- Move the variable to the Targets box
- Click "Create"
- Click on Demographics to create a demographic profile
- Passport
Passport offers comprehensive coverage of international consumer markets, consumer lifestyles in other countries, economic statistics, demographic forecasting, and industry reports for most major markets and consumer products, and more.
- To get started, search for "Pet Care in the US" (or insert another country for international coverage) to find a country report for the industry
- Use the "Related" tab in the report to find additional reports, such as "Pet Products in (insert country), or reports about dog food, cat food.
- For more in-depth coverage, look under "Industries" in the top menu, navigate to "Pet Care"
- You can also find general consumer reports by searching for:
- "Consumer lifestyles in US (or another country)"
- "Megatrends in the US (or another country)"
- WARC _World Advertising Research Center
Contains over articles, case studies, research reports and summaries covering all areas of marketing communications. (Athens Campus Only)
- Use WARC to find articles and cases studies about marketing campaigns.
- Search by product or company name to find some useful articles about how companies are reaching consumers in the industry.