University Libraries

A list of projects, resources, events, and anything else.

The African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship, explores black America's quest for equality from the early national period through the twentieth century.

Links to several "collections in Ohio based on the subject of African Americans in Ohio." Includes the National Afro-American Museum and Cultural Center; the African American Experience in Ohio, 1850-1920; the Siebert Collection on the Underground Railroad; and more.

Learn about the history, significant productions, and archive contributions of more than 120 public media stations and archives.

Contains the collection of over 2,000 interviews conducted in seventeen states between 1936 and 1938 under the Federal Writers' Project of the Work Progress Administration, as published in 1972 in The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography edited by George P. Rawick

Dedicated to providing the inquisitive public with comprehensive, reliable, and accurate information concerning the history of African Americans in the United States and people of African ancestry in other regions of the world.

From Stanford University Press: Black Quotidian explores everyday lives of African Americans in the twentieth century. Drawing on an archive of digitized African-American newspapers

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA). From the Library of Congress.

Features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries

Start with Activism Exhibit

Great for images, video as well as primary documents.

Primary sources sets from the DPLA, Women and the Blues, Great Migration

An electronic collection sponsored by the Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture...Currently, DAS includes five digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, and materials related to the church in the black community

Early images of African Americans from the American Museum of Photography

The Vault is our new FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office.

From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909 presents 396 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. (Library of Congress website)

Historical Census Statistics On Population Totals By Race, 1790 to 1990, and By Hispanic Origin, 1970 to 1990, For Large Cities And Other Urban Places In The United States

Redlining maps for Ohio

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.

Columbia University project featuring interactive maps of African-American sites in New York City.

Digital exhibition contextualizing James Blue’s documentary of the 1963 March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom with archival materials and oral histories.

National Archives and Records Association, particular study of AAS.

The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. It was established by Act of Congress in 2003, following decades of efforts to promote and highlight the contributions of African Americans.

The Negro Motorist Green Book was a travel guide that listed lodgings, tailors and other businesses that welcomed black patrons during Jim Crow. The guide, which was launched in 1936 and published for nearly 30 years.

Pictures scanned from old books and photo collections.

Search for "African Americans" and locate the various resources available about African Americans and Ohio.

The papers of Rosa Parks (1913-2005) span the years 1866-2006, with the bulk of the material dating from 1955 to 2000. The collection, which contains approximately 7,500 items in the Manuscript Division, as well as 2,500 photographs in the Prints and Photographs Division, documents many aspects of Parks's private life and public activism on behalf of civil rights for African Americans. (LOC.gov)

Digital collections from the Schomburg Center

Primary sources in PDF from Michigan State University Digital and Multimedia Center

Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA). (website)

Over 730,000 items from U.S. libraries relating to all aspects of African American culture and history.

A single multi-source data-set of the Trans-Atlantic slave trade.