A primary source (also called original source) can be an artifact, a document, a recording, a personal letter, memoirs or other source of information that was created at the time under study. A primary source serves as an original source of information about the topic.
cc licensed ( BY SA ) flickr photo by pingnews.com: http://flickr.com/photos/pingnews/449909279/
Covers 5 key cities in African American History: Atlanta, Chicago, New York, St. Louis and various towns in North Carolina. Contains newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, oral histories, and photographs from early 1800’s to present. Topics covered include desegregation, urban renewal, housing, civil rights, protests, race relations, labor history, and arts and culture.
Full text of more than 100,000 pages of diaries, memoirs, and letters written by more than 2,000 participants in the American Civil War. A chronology of key events allows the user to see multiple perspectives surrounding a particular event
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals
Contains the collection of over 2,000 interviews conducted in seventeen states between 1936 and 1938 under the Federal Writers' Project of the Work Progress Administration, as published in 1972 in The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography edited by George P. Rawick.
Consists of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures covering 250 years of history.
An electronic collection sponsored by the Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture...Currently, DAS includes five digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, and materials related to the church in the black community
Module one (Federal government records) consists of 37 collections of organizational records and personal papers and contains records of civil rights organization and personal papers on African American life in the 20th century. The second module (Organizational records and personal papers) is comprised of 36 collections from federal government agencies and contains records on the major milestones and events in the civil rights movement
Includes more than authors and approximately 100,000 pages contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, which provide a unique and personal view immigrants' experiences in America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women, as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters....The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.
This database is designed as a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering the extensive time period of 1490-2008, from about 30 different libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. The resource provides access to many thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images