Library Guides: Online Nursing Programs (RN-BSN, MSN, DNP): Finding Articles (CINAHL and more)

Finding Nursing Articles in CINAHL

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the major database for finding articles in nursing and other allied health fields. Start by entering one or more terms for your topic in the search box below OR connect through the Library to CINAHL's main page.

Tips for searching CINAHL:

Make sure to look for our ACCESS OPTIONS to see about getting full text to articles.
You will see filter options at the top of the screen, to further limit by "scholarly/peer-reviewed articles". publication time, and source type (journal, worksheet, magazine, etc.)
CINAHL HELP page

Other Health-Nursing Databases

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations from biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books. One of the most used health and medicine resources.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health
Content includes: Instructional multimedia (video, audio, books, figures, etc.); Scholarly articles (including systematic reviews); Conference Proceedings and Reports; Clinical training videos; Best Practices and Guidelines; Dissertations
ClnicalKey
It offers more content including: 900+ Reference Books, journals and information on drugs, 13,000+ Medical & Surgical Videos, 15,000+ Patient Education Handouts, and Clinical Trials from clinicaltrials.gov.
AccessMedicine
provides eBooks on health and medical topics, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools for point-of-care assistance and can be downloaded as a mobile app.
Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination
is an online guide for head-to-toe systems-based physical assessment and clinical reasoning skills videos.
The Cochrane Library
contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. This is one of THE places to go for systematic reviews and evidence-based literature.
Consumer Health Complete
Resource for consumer-oriented health content designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
TRIP
A clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Search by PICO!
Policy Atlas
A comprehensive database that allows you to more easily identify data sources that can be used for your policy-relevant research or to discover new sources for health data.

Looking for a non-nursing or health resource?

Databases by Subject!
Explore other research resources by subject.

University Libraries

Online Nursing Programs (RN-BSN, MSN, DNP)

What to Look For in Databases

I don't know what any of these things are...

Finding Nursing Articles in CINAHL

Tips for searching CINAHL:

Other Health-Nursing Databases

Looking for a non-nursing or health resource?

OHIO UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES