Skip to Main Content

Library Research Process

This guide provides introductory information and tips on the research process.

Often the Best Place to Start for Articles

Through our Library Search Catalog, you can search more than 200 databases all at the same time, including: 

  • All EBSCO databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • Several newspaper databases
  • OHIO Library Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

The Library Search Catalog does not include everything. We subscribe to many other databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in the catalog. To find and use these, go to A to Z Databases -- or let us help you. 

Use the Library Search to Find Materials through Ohio University, OhioLINK, and WorldCat

Starting at the main search bar on the University Libraries website, select which search you want to run from the drop-down menu.

What does each type of search include?

Articles and More
Articles, books, newspapers, media and streaming content available through our subscription databases, Ohio University and OhioLINK library catalogs, and beyond. Includes many items we do not own, though we may be able to get you a copy via InterLibrary Loan.

OHIO Library Catalog
Physical and online resources held by Ohio University Libraries only.

OhioLINK Search
Books, ebooks, and media available from OhioLINK institutions. Physical items may be requested and are typically available in 3-5 business days.

Course Reserves
Materials on reserve for a specific Ohio University course. Search for course reserve lists by course number or instructor's name.

WorldCat
Books, media, and more from Libraries all over the world. Most materials can be requested through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).