After you get a good idea about the larger industry, you’ll want to know about the consumers in the industry. Market research reports, data, and statistics found in the resources below are an excellent place to start.
Contains market research reports for specific consumer product categories. Also useful for sport business marketing. Covers US and some International marketplaces. Especially useful for consumer demographics, psychographics, buying behavior, motivations, and more.
Use Simmons to find national-level demographic profiles of people who shop at specific stores or use certain brands of food.
Can also be used to find consumer attitudes about shopping and purchasing
Contains demographic information about users of specific consumer products including: what they use, income and educational level, what types of media they use, and more. See my Simmons Tips & Tricks for help using the database.
Note: Simmons Insights is limited to 50 users at a time.
Simmons provides information on consumer usage behavior for all major media, more than 450 product categories and over 8,000 brands. And it includes in-depth demographic, psychographic, and lifestyle descriptions of all Americans, including the diverse Hispanic/Latino market, with an added sample of 8,000 Hispanics above and beyond the general market survey of 25,000 respondents. Additional Hispanic demographics, language preferences and media.
Passport offers comprehensive coverage of international consumer markets, consumer lifestyles in other countries, economic statistics, demographic forecasting, and industry reports for most major markets and consumer products, and more.
"Designed for the world’s marketing services sector, and used by advertising and media agencies, research companies, media owners, marketing consultants and top business schools. WARC.com supplies its users with information in key areas critical to their success, including communications effectiveness, media planning and buying, market research and methods, and consumer insight and behaviour.” “The WARC.com database contains over 25,000 articles, case studies, research reports and summaries covering all areas of marketing communications drawn from more than 30 leading content sources worldwide.” (excerpt from About and Content sections of WARC).