Skip to Main Content

Ohio University Libraries

Government Information

Federal and and state of Ohio government documents as well as documents from international organizations

Start by Searching for the Subject in the Catalogs

A good place to start is to search for the topic in these catalogs.

  • ALICE Catalog
    Start by searching this catalog to see if OU owns government publications on your topic or if the library has cataloged relevant government Internet sites. U.S. government documents received since 1975 have been cataloged.
  • OhioLINK Central Catalog
    If OU doesn't own documents on your topic, try the OhioLINK Central Catalog. It contains the holdings of the libraries at more than 80 colleges and universities throughout Ohio, many of which have government documents collections.
  • WorldCat
    WorldCat is a database of the holdings of many libraries throughout North American and other countries. If you identify a document you want to borrow, you can use your Illiad account to request it.

Try These Databases To Identify U.S. Government Documents

These research databases are licensed for the use of Ohio University researchers.

  • ProQuest Congressional, 1789 - present
    Indexes U.S. Congressional documents. Includes the full text of many Congressional hearings, committee reports, and committee documents. It also includes copies of many executive department annual reports and other publications from the 19th century.
  • Declassified Documents Reference System
    U.S. government documents, from the post-World War II era, that have been declassified. This includes formerly classified documents from agencies such as the CIA, the FBI, and the State Department.
  • HeinOnline
    A database of legal documents. This includes U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. treaties, Federal Regulations, etc.
  • PAIS Archive, 1915-1976
    Indexes public affairs articles and documents. Includes government documents from the United States, foreign governments, and international organizations.
  • PAIS International, 1972 - present
    Indexes books, documents, and articles about international public affairs. Includes links to documents of foreign governments and international organizations.