Library Guides: Government Information: International Organizations

Searching for the Subject or Title in the Catalogs

One place to start is to search for the topic in these catalogs. However, the indexes have more comprehensive indexing for United Nations documents.

ALICE Catalog
Start by searching this catalog to see if OU owns government publications on your topic or if the library has cataloged relevant government Internet sites. Some United Nations government documents in the OU collection have been cataloged.
OhioLINK Central Catalog
If OU doesn't own documents on your topic, try the OhioLINK Central Catalog. It contains the holdings of the libraries at more than 80 colleges and universities throughout Ohio, many of which have government documents collections.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a database of the holdings of many libraries throughout North American and other countries. If you identify a document you want to borrow, you can use your Illiad account to request it.

Official Documents of the United Nations
Indexes and provides copies of full text documents from the United Nations system. Includes many documents 1993 to present, but increasingly adds documents from as early as 1946.
Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine
Searches the Internet sites of many international organizations to find relevant documents and other resources.
UNBISnet: United Nations Bibliographic Information System
Catalogue of United Nations documents that links to full text when available.

These databases are all available only to OU researchers.

Access UNDP, 1972-1998
A database to the United Nations Development Programme Project Reports, 1971-1998.
AccessUN, 1991-2002
A searchable database to more than 500,000 UN documents, with links to those that are full text online.
Index to United Nations Documents and Publications
This CD-ROM index is available on the 5th floor of Alden Library. The UN documents indexed in this resource are on microfiche on the 5th floor of Alden Library.
OECD iLibrary
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's online library of statistical databases, books, and periodicals.
PAIS Archive, 1915-1976
Indexes public affairs articles and documents. Includes government documents from the United States, foreign governments, and international organizations.
PAIS International, 1972-
Indexes books, documents, and articles about international public affairs. Includes links to documents of foreign governments and international organizations.