Activism
Activism in Appalachia has been prevalent for decades. From petitions and protests to education on diversity and different experiences in life, these different example resources explore activism in Appalachia on all topics.
- Appalachian Movement Press CollectionThe Appalachian Movement Press was a non-profit activism publisher based in Huntington, West Virginia. From 1971-1973, this publisher released pamphlets, posters, short stories, and more about Appalachian culture, struggle, and history.
- Asian American and Pacific Islander Organizations in Athens, OhioThis entirely digital collection consists of materials related to the founding of the three Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) organizations and their first year (2021-2022) of activities. These organizations were created after the COVID-19 pandemic and the rise of reported hate crimes against Asian Americans.
- Ohio University and Athens LGBTQ+ collectionThis collection contains LGBTQ+ activism, organizations, and news from the 1970s onward in Ohio University and surrounding areas
- Peter L. Goss Photograph CollectionIncludes photographs taken at Ohio University of demonstrations during the nationwide Moratorium to End the War in Vietnam in October 1969 and the campus-wide protests following the May 4, 1970 shootings at Kent State University.
- Student Activism CollectionThis collection contains record of Ohio University student protest, petitions, and campus activism for issues happening on campus and beyond.
- The Tangled Roots of Feminism, Environmentalism, and Appalachian Literature byCall Number: PS286.A6 E54 2003ISBN: 0821415107Publication Date: 2003-12-29In The Tangled Roots of Feminism, Environmentalism, and Appalachian Literature Elizabeth Engelhardt finds the origins of what we recognize today as ecological feminism--a wide-reaching philosophy that values the connections between humans and nonhumans and works for social and environmental justice. An OU Press Publication.
- Electric Dirt: A Clebration of Queer Voices and Identities from Appalachia and the South byCall Number: HQ75 .E44x 2017Publication Date: 2017"In Electric Dirt the underrepresented and misrepresented get to represent themselves....Through sharing tales of wildcrafting our queerness, foraging for pieces of ourselves within the intersections of coal mines and class, race and religion, food justice and colonialism."--Page 4, 2017 issue
- Born in Poverty: An Autobiography byCall Number: E185.97.J22 A3 1980xPublication Date: 1980 (originally 1963)
- So Much to be Angry About: Appalachian Movement Press and Radical DIY Publishing, 1969-1979 byCall Number: Z232.A67 S57 2021Publication Date: 2021So Much to Be Angry About conjures an influential but largely obscured strand in the nation's radical tradition-the "movement" printing presses and publishers of the late 1960s and 1970s, and specifically Appalachian Movement Press in Huntington, West Virginia, the only movement press in Appalachia.