University Libraries

Image shows a collage of select images from Manuscript Collections

Manuscripts are archival collections without a direct correlation to Ohio University, although many do have local and regional relevance. Both types contain records in a wide variety of formats, from correspondence and meeting minutes to photographs, ephemera, and memorabilia.

• Greta Suiter is Manuscripts Archivist and can help with manuscripts questions.

Appalachian related materials

• Browse all collections related to the Appalachian Region
• Photographs, maps, genealogical documentation, and more in the William E. Peters Papers. Further explore Peters's work through the digital exhibit, "Mapping the Historical Range Books of W.E. Peters: An Exploration of Athens County, Ohio, Past and Present"
• Coal mining and industrial landscape images from the Frank Buhla Collection
• Civil War Correspondence
• Appalachian Movement Press publications

Towboat with a coal barge passes under under Ironton-Russell Bridge, Ohio River, Ironton, Ohio, May 1995.
Lloyd E. Moore Photograph Collection

The Documentary Photography Archive contains materials that document the history, content, and techniques of documentary photography.

• Laura Smith is Photo Archivist and can help with any Documentary Photography Archive questions.

Appalachian related materials

• Lynn Johnson Collection: Contains works by Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania based photojournalist, Lynn Johnson. Appalachian content primarily includes photographs taken from the 1980s-1990s of industries, businesses, and individuals, in Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania, as well as some photographs taken in West Virginia.
   
• Peter L. Goss Collection: Images taken by Peter L. Goss while a student at Ohio University from 1966-1970. Photographs include Ohio University and Athens, Ohio as well as neighboring communities in southeast Ohio. Subject matter includes an emphasis on vernacular architecture and local events. 
   
• Lloyd E. Moore Collection: Includes photographs taken by Lloyd E. Moore, a longtime resident of Ironton, Ohio who retired to Athens, Ohio. Photographs date from the mid to late 20th century and document Ironton, Athens, and numerous southeastern Ohio communities. 

Local Government Records contain select government records from counties located in southeastern Ohio including Athens, Belmont, Gallia, Guernsey, Hocking, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingam, Perry, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton, and Washington.

• For more information about Local Government Records, please complete our Research Request Form.

Image shows a collage of select items from the rare book collection

Appalachia Related Materials 

• Ohioana Collection - This collection contains important works on the history of Ohio with a focus on Athens and Southeastern Ohio
• Rare books related to coal and coal mining

Rare Books more generally is a broad category that is a bit difficult to define. It includes, for example:

• historic books (but not all old books are rare books)
• books that are unique or rare because relatively few copies exist
• books that are important because of who previously owned them or used them (association copies)
• books that are noteworthy for their bindings, illustrations, printing techniques, or other physical or structural features
• limited edition, small press, and fine press books
• contemporary artists' books which you can think of as books as art objects, often handmade
• original and facsimile medieval manuscript material

Miriam Intrator is Special Collections Librarian for Rare Books and can help answer rare book related questions.