APA Citation Examples for Business Databases
Bizminer
You generally use Bizminer to create numerical figures for industries in specific locations. While Bizminer refers to its content as "reports," I believe the information should be cited as a [Data set].
D&B Hoovers
If you use company information (sales, financial information, history, etc.) from D&B Hoovers, cite as [Company profile].
If you build a list of companies or executives in D&B Hoovers, I suggest you cite the list you create with brackets. Be as descriptive as possible as this can help the reader replicate the search to create the same list.
D&B Hoovers also contains content that lists other organizations or people as the author or creator of the source. Individual news articles and analyst reports should be cited with the original citation information:
First Research
First Research has multiple pages within a report. However, unless you just cite one section a few times, I suggest just citing the whole report. Also, First Research does not provide a person as an author, but does provide a full date of publication.
If you choose to cite specific sections of the report, I suggest you cite as shown below.
IbisWorld
IBISWorld reports typically have an analyst listed as the author. I have used [Industry report] to describe the format.
Mergent Intellect
If you use information from Mergent Intellect for a specific company, format the citation as a [Company profile].
If you create a list of companies in Mergent Intellect, describe the search you used to create the list in brackets.
Mergent Online
To cite information from a company profile, use [Company profile] and Mergent Online as the author. Note that no date is providde, so you will need to use the "Retrieved from" date.
If you use Mergent Online to create company comparison tables, cite the table that you create with the description in brackets.
Mergent also contains stock/analyst/equity reports from multiple sources. It's important to try to cite the original source or author, which may not actually be Mergent Online. In the case below, I list Mergent Online as the database because the author is different.
Mintel
Reports from Mintel will usually list a person as the author and have a publication date. Also, the month and year is usually included in the title. While it may look weird to have the date listed twice in the citation, and even more strange to have the dashes in the title, I believe the citation is thorough and correct. Note that I have used [Market report] to describe the report and have included the database name.
You can also use Mintel to create tables and graphs using the Interactive Databook. These should be cited as [Data set]. Because the databook is not attribute to a person as the author, I cited Mintel as the author. Note that while the title is a bit complicated and awkward, it does give the reader a clear idea where to find the data.
Passport
Passport has many types of reports and data available, and I have included the most common options below. If you cite a different type of information, just try to follow the formats below and be as consistent as possible. Note that for cases where the database is the author, I suggest using Euromonitor International as the author, then cite the database name (Passport) after the report.
Is you cite a consumer industry report as shown below, note that Passport calls these either "country reports" or "industry reports." I have chosen to describe them all as [Industry report].
For the broader (less industry focus) reports, I chose to describe these as [Country report].
You can also create data tables with Passport for company shares, brand shares, economic statistics, etc. You will cite this as [Data set]. Note that there isn't a date for the data, so you must use the Retrieved date. I also added the countries analyzed in the data set in parethesis.
PrivCo
To cite information from Privco, use the [Company profile] format and cite Privco as the author. Note that no date is provides, so you will need to use the "Retrieved from" date.
Simmons Insights
The most commons uses of Simmons Insights are to create Demographic Profile of consumers of a particular product or to build a Cross Tab of data.
If you use Simmons to create a demographic profile, I suggest using [Data set] as the format, since "Demographic Profile" is in the title. The title of the data variable can be a bit convoluted, so just do the best that you can.
If you cite a cross tab, there's really no ideal way to cite every variable that you use in the cross tab. I suggest just being as descriptive as possible without going overboard. Since the Cross Tab is the actual format, I put the entire description in brackets. For example, to cite the cross tab data used in my "How to Read Cross Tabs" example, I might do as follows:
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics has some tips to cite the data on their help pages.
I hope to post my own examples as soon as I can. --Chad
Sport Market Analytics
Coming Soon!
Statista
Statista is fairly straightforward to cite as the database has a citation built in. Use the blue quotations button to generate the citation.
Note that Statista uses the "Retrieved from date" since the statistics might be updated at a later date. Statista will also use the [Graph] as a custom format.